Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
LOVE the orange infusion. This is the only way my 14 year old son will eat sweet potatoes. He loved the orange twist. Probably would be just as good without the added sugar. It was very sweet. Very impressive presentation as well. Keep in mind the size of your oranges... I bought oranges that were quite large and ended up barely having enough sweet potato mixture to fill them all appropriately. This is THE recipe that my son will remember his Mom making during the holidays. And, THE recipe that will haunt his future wife when he says... " I only like my Mom's sweet potatoes... can you make them like she did?" Hee Hee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
just loved it one of my favs!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I made these a while ago for a dinner party but forgot to review. These were simple to make, and very delicious. Definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This recipe was a huge Thanksgiving hit. I used half as much sugar and it was perfect. I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Dewoody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
these were a hit at my christmas dinner party.. putting the mashed sweet potato in the orange is a fresh twist to an old favourite! they are alot of work, so preparing them the day before is key. such a crowd pleaser, i will be making them annually from now on :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made these for Christmas. They were absolutely delicious. I used the orange juice from the orange in the potatoes. I added a couple mini marshmallows on top followed by pecan. They looked lovely on the table. They will become a holiday favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Exceptional presentation! They looked beautiful on the table. I brought them to my boyfriends family for Christmas dinner. Many of his family member are great cooks. They knew I spent a good amount of time on the preparation. I juiced and gutted the oranges the day before in front of the TV, I was done before I knew it. I used others advice and halved the sugar. I didnt know how to grate an orange peel so I just threw one that i had made a hole in into the foot processor. The sweet and bitter flavors went very well together. I didnt make the topping. Instead I just placed the pecans on top and sprinkled brown sugar on them before I baked them. Was amazing. I will make them again for a special occasion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simplylindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for Xmas, what a hit! I cut the oranges in half and filled them the night before with the mixture. The recipe makes quite a bit of filling. I took the extra and filled a small casserole dish with it. On Xmas I made the sauce and topped the oranges and extra dish I had made. I baked everything and it all came out yummy! I did put the orange bottoms in foil so they would not brown and look pretty when they were done baking. I pulled off the foil when they were done and served. Everyone raved and raved about them !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was AMAZING! I skipped the topping, and used brown sugar instead of white. I also set them on muffin tins and covered with foil to bake which increased the baking time to 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unicornnymph22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nanticoke, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this for Christmas Eve for my boyfriend's family and seriously this was truly an awesome recipe and it turned out AMAZING, it is also sweet enough to be used as a dessert as opposed to a side dish... Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States