Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This will be my 3rd year in a row to have these requested as our contribution to Thanksgiving dinner at the In-Laws. I have never had a complaint other than "why isn't there more?" Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great! They look really impressive and the recipe is really very simple. My family loved them although they were a touch too sweet- even for my sweet tooth! The topping is basically pure sugar, but it was actually the sweetness of the filling that started to get a bit sickly towards the bottom. The topping we really liked because it tastes like a fudgey caramel and crystallizes around the nuts. Next time, I will only use 1/2 cup of white sugar in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
These are unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My gosh, where do I start? My hubby said it was a 4 or 5, but I couldn't agree. I will make again, but with out all the work. I didn't use as much sugar or butter as called for & will cut back more as I thought it was way to sweet. I won't put in the orange shells either, even though it did look nice, it was a big hassle. We did both agree the orange flavor mixed with the sweet potato was nice & so that is what I'll go off of. I'll mash the sweet potatoes, use less butter & sugar, put in ramekins (for cuteness) & put in a larger dish for the water bath. For the topping I'll use less also to keep the over powering sweetness done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Looks great but taste too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
a lot of work but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are exceptional. A little time consuming to make, but extremely impressive! I make them for Christmas every year, and they are talked about all year long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
LOVE the orange infusion. This is the only way my 14 year old son will eat sweet potatoes. He loved the orange twist. Probably would be just as good without the added sugar. It was very sweet. Very impressive presentation as well. Keep in mind the size of your oranges... I bought oranges that were quite large and ended up barely having enough sweet potato mixture to fill them all appropriately. This is THE recipe that my son will remember his Mom making during the holidays. And, THE recipe that will haunt his future wife when he says... " I only like my Mom's sweet potatoes... can you make them like she did?" Hee Hee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
just loved it one of my favs!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I made these a while ago for a dinner party but forgot to review. These were simple to make, and very delicious. Definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States