Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I tried this recipe last year for Thanksgiving but due to a mishap with the oven we weren't able to try them but I was told they were good. I did make them again at this years Thanksgiving and had to triple the recipe. I only used 1 1/2 cups of both sugars and they still came out pretty sweet but again tastey. So, I would cut back more on both the white sugar, brown sugar and also the number of eggs when tripling this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEPERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I hate sweet potatoes but this was unbelievable. I doubled the recipe, and baked the left over in an extra dish so i had the oranges for presentation, and the rest for seconds! They went over huge and looked like much more trouble than they really were
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Very good! Everyone loved them and asked for the recipe. I doubled the recipe and put half in oranges and the other half in a baking dish and used the same topping on both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe is Amazing, yummy, and such a neat idea. I didn't have OJ like another reader so I cut my oranges in half and used the juice. A helpful tip for getting all the pulp out, I was able to turn my oranges inside out and once I did that the cleaning out process went much easier and faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Great recipe, i did some things differently: used 1/4 c. butter, 1/2 c. brown sugar, used store bought toffee pecans on top. I could'nt get all the of the pulp out of all the oranges, and those turned out better! The ones i cleaned out perfectly to the pith were actually not so great, the bitterness flavored the potato. The oranges i left a little membrane and pulp were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Wonderful! I always try to include one new recipe for thanksgiving and this one was it. It was such a big hit it has made its way into our traditional meal for years to come. I ran out of oranges and used the rest of the filling and the topping in a casserole dish and also came out nice if you are looking for a quicker option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I have a very large family, so I made over 40 oranges. They were the biggest hit if the holiday. They have now become the Thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
excellent. novel presentation idea. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
So delicious - and I even used less sugar than what is called for. A real treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsyfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I made this as a side dish for a vegetarian dinner party. I thought it went over well. It was too sweet for some of my guests, others really liked it. I thought it was great, and a great presentation. Very unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States