Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I brought these for Christmas dinner, and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe. The orange and vanilla compliment the sweet potato perfectly. Cut down the sugar to about a third to begin with and add more to taste. While eating if you scrape the sides of the orange their is a very mild bitterness which balances perfectly with the sweet filling. This is only time consuming if you are making a large amount. From preparation to finish I was finished in just under an hour. Cut the oranges in half and use the juice from inside. Squeeze them a little and the inside should come out easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made these for Christmas dinner. A definite winner with my guests. I did not have pecans, so used toasted almonds----yum, yum, yum. Thanks for the recipe. Pris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Excellent. I cut the sugar by half, forgot to put water in the pan, still turned out great. Had extra potatoes that I served from a casserole dish without the topping, it was wonderful as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Delicious! I was a little nervous about hulling the oranges, but I used a grapefruit knife, and it was done in five minutes! My family is small so I halved the recipe and ended up with leftover stuffing, so i filled two small ramikens and it turned out well. Like other reviewers I also lessened the amount of sugar, and it was still plenty sweet. The only problem I had was with the topping, but that was my mistake, not the recipe, and to be honest, we didn't miss it, and will probably leave it off next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Whoa was this recipe sweet. Our family just made this tonight, halved the white sugar and it still was way too sweet for our liking. Nice presentation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly - absolutely delicious. They made for a very elegant Thanksgiving dinner. I would definately serve them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4milligans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I made this for my in-laws for Thanksgiving. It was a show-stopper! My husband's grandmother couldn't stop complimenting me! Next year, I may have to make a double patch. My only complaint is the time it took to prepare the oranges. I prepared them and the potatoes the night before to speed it up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I am Kraft Dinner kind of cook and I found this recipe to be pretty straight forward. Yes, the oranges are a pain, but they are do-able and look purty. I made 24 of these and found I had an excessive amount of topping after multiplying the recipe, so perhaps that could be scaled back. Also, I took other reviewers advice and cut the sugar in half which I think was a good idea as they were already quite sweet. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge success. Everyone seemed to love them and I impressed my mother in law who is an accomplished cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States