Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
i made these for a holiday meal, and my family -- most of whom don't like sweet potatoes -- couldn't get enough of them. now i find myself craving them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very pretty and tasty as well. A little on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
awesome! everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kimberton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I had left over potatoes so I cooked them in a casserole dish around the oranges that we stuffed with the potatoes. They ended up having the same orange flavor. I will be using this recipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
These have been so much fun to prepare - I haven't tasted them yet, but the process has been fantastic. I had great luck using my grapefruit knife and serrated-edged spoon to prepare the orange shells. Plus, this side dish is worth it visually. What a beautiful addition to our Seder table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethel, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Everyone at Easter dinner loved this, but we made a few changes. We only used about 3/4 the recommended sugar and half the butter and left the topping off completely and it still came out very, very sweet. Definitely more of a dessert than a side dish. Next time I'll probably only use 1/4 of the recommended sugar, stick with 1/2 the recommended butter, and use a tiny bit of brown sugar for topping. I also took another reviewer's suggestion and cut the oranges completely in half, cut the pulp from the rind, and then scooped, which was really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe! I cut big navel oranges in half...easy to pull out the flesh...I cut back on the sugar to 1/3 c and next time I will cut back a little more. Also found the sugar topping too much, to over the top sweet plus a waste of 1 cup of pricey pecans. Next time I will sprinkle a little brn sugar on top and place pecan halves or sprinkle chopped pecans on top. They present beautifully and I am making this again for Easter Dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyPaws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I loved this idea for a fancy side dish. It was time-consuming and messy to prepare and I think people at the party were afraid to try them! They tasted good, but I don't think the orange peel really added much flavor. And leftover, the peel started to disintegrate and made the potatoes bitter! Fun idea, but not worth it. Next time I'll just make the "Sweet Potato Classic" casserole. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Tried this for Christmas Day and it was a hit. I really think this is my mom's favorite now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piedmont, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Made this last Christmas gathering at my fiance's family .. everyone went for seconds ! .... I added less sugar than what it called for just like the others suggested ... just make sure you don't over fill ... the oranges tends to shrink
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChitownPinay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States