Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. This Thanksgiving I'm going to use baked and hollowed out mini-pumpkins (the kind you usually use for decorations) and fill them with this mixture. I will add the baked portion from the pumpkins too. Yellow vegetables are good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelizz10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Iowa, USA
Living In: Stella, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Great recipe! One thing that keeps triggering me though is the nutritional information on the side- there is no way this is 900+ calories per serving! 1 cup of mashed sweet potato is only 180 cals. There's a little sugar and a little butter but no cream or anything. I'm thinking that's the total recipe amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This recipe had such a beautiful presentation!!! It really wasn't that hard or time consuming to prepare! I read all the reviews before hand and took the following suggestions - I cut the oranges in half and used a grapefruit knife to cut out the orange, making sure to keep the peel in-tack. I wrapped the sweet potatoes in foil and baked them for about 1 hour to keep them from absorbing too much water and to enhance their flavor. Once cooled, I just squeezed out the flesh - no peeling necessary. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 a cup and used brown sugar instead of white sugar. I totally left out the butter - it did not need it, and boy did that save a lot of fat and calories! next time I will probably leave out the eggs as I thought they would hold the sweet potatoes more firmly together - but it did not make a difference - the texture was mushy so the eggs didn't add much. I added about 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the sweet potato mixture. As for the topping i wanted to make the topping as stated but I did not have whole pecans I made it with chopped nuts instead next time I will make it with the whole pecans. I used cut pieces of tin foil and wrapped it around the oranges as they baked so that the orange peel won't burn. If I don't use the eggs next time - i will just skip this step and not even bake the orange cups - as the filling was delicious before baked, and no eggs will lead me not to have to do this step. This got rave reviews from all of my guests! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this dish for Easter and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
i have made this dish twice now and both times it has turned out sub par. it is not a bad dish it just lacks in a little bit of everything. one thing that i can say for sure is make sure that you do not use splenda brown sugar in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie B
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
We loved this new twist on sweet potatoes. My oranges were small, so I only cut the top quarter off. I used a grapefruit spoon to remove the flesh from the shell and it was pretty easy; just like cleaning a little jack-o-lantern. I got enough juice from the oranges to use that in the recipe, and I cut the sugar in half. I used walnuts instead of pecans because that's what I had. They were FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I cut the sugar down my 75% based on the reviews. It was still sweet enough for everyone. Plus such a fancy presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
absolutely fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is the 3rd time I have made them and my family loved them each time. I decreased the white sugar in half but left the rest of the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
excellent! i made this for the first time on Christmas and it was delicious. the citrus scent, delicious flavor and wonderful presentation make this recipe a keeper!thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States