Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
A tasty holiday treat, but a bit too sweet for me! I would definitely cut down on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Question: I sometimes substitute applesauce for butter in cake/muffin recipes to reduce the amount of fat. Could you could substitute 1/2 cup applesauce for the butter in the sweet potato mixture and use 1/2 cup butter for the topping?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I decided to try this for something different at holidays...awesome! The mix of sweet potato & orange is delightful to the taste buds. If you haven't tried this recipe you are missing out on great flavor and they are sooo easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
My family loved them. They are still talking about the sweet potato oranges. The zest from the oranges gives the sweet potato a amazing taste. Love and will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUDIBAKESALOT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Prepared 24 of these for Christmas Dinner Party. They were a huge hit! Like others said, even the guests that said they normally don't lik sweet potatoes loved them! I prepared the oranges the day before and stored, covered, in the fridge. I made it really easy and quick, by using cannned sweet potatoes!!! They were awsome! I cut back on the sugar (like everyone else). I made the recipe for 17 servings and it filled 24 oranges. So, I must agree with others that this recipe makes more than needed! The topping recipe made so much that I have enough left to cover about 10 cinnammon rolls. Used a graetfruit spoon to clean out shells. Mixed the oranges that I scooped out with greatfruit and sugar for a fruit salad. I added a mini marshmellow to the top @ the last few minutes and stuck the garnish on top. My pecans were candy coated...yummy! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is the best sweet potatoe/yam recipe I have ever tasted. I have thrown out my other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This recipe was a lot of work and WAY to sweet. It barely kept any of the sweet potato flavor. It tasted more like an orange cream-sicle. It may have been better without the sugar, but it was so much work that I don't think that I will try it again. A tip if you do make it, you don't really need much water in the bottom of the pan, to much makes it difficult to get the oranges out without getting the filling wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alden, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
AWESOME! These tasted really great. I am going to try them without the stick of butter in the sweet potatoes next time to lower the calorie count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
We have a recipe very close to this one that has been in our family for years. We put the mashed sweet potatoes in a sauce pan and add all the ingriedients and heat till bubbling. then plce the orange halves on a baking sheet top with mini marshmellows put in a 350 oven till the marshmellows are brown on top. Fast easy and no water to mess with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. This Thanksgiving I'm going to use baked and hollowed out mini-pumpkins (the kind you usually use for decorations) and fill them with this mixture. I will add the baked portion from the pumpkins too. Yellow vegetables are good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelizz10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Iowa, USA
Living In: Stella, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States