Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I decided to try this for something different at holidays...awesome! The mix of sweet potato & orange is delightful to the taste buds. If you haven't tried this recipe you are missing out on great flavor and they are sooo easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
My family loved them. They are still talking about the sweet potato oranges. The zest from the oranges gives the sweet potato a amazing taste. Love and will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUDIBAKESALOT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Prepared 24 of these for Christmas Dinner Party. They were a huge hit! Like others said, even the guests that said they normally don't lik sweet potatoes loved them! I prepared the oranges the day before and stored, covered, in the fridge. I made it really easy and quick, by using cannned sweet potatoes!!! They were awsome! I cut back on the sugar (like everyone else). I made the recipe for 17 servings and it filled 24 oranges. So, I must agree with others that this recipe makes more than needed! The topping recipe made so much that I have enough left to cover about 10 cinnammon rolls. Used a graetfruit spoon to clean out shells. Mixed the oranges that I scooped out with greatfruit and sugar for a fruit salad. I added a mini marshmellow to the top @ the last few minutes and stuck the garnish on top. My pecans were candy coated...yummy! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is the best sweet potatoe/yam recipe I have ever tasted. I have thrown out my other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This recipe was a lot of work and WAY to sweet. It barely kept any of the sweet potato flavor. It tasted more like an orange cream-sicle. It may have been better without the sugar, but it was so much work that I don't think that I will try it again. A tip if you do make it, you don't really need much water in the bottom of the pan, to much makes it difficult to get the oranges out without getting the filling wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alden, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
AWESOME! These tasted really great. I am going to try them without the stick of butter in the sweet potatoes next time to lower the calorie count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
We have a recipe very close to this one that has been in our family for years. We put the mashed sweet potatoes in a sauce pan and add all the ingriedients and heat till bubbling. then plce the orange halves on a baking sheet top with mini marshmellows put in a 350 oven till the marshmellows are brown on top. Fast easy and no water to mess with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. This Thanksgiving I'm going to use baked and hollowed out mini-pumpkins (the kind you usually use for decorations) and fill them with this mixture. I will add the baked portion from the pumpkins too. Yellow vegetables are good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelizz10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Iowa, USA
Living In: Stella, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Great recipe! One thing that keeps triggering me though is the nutritional information on the side- there is no way this is 900+ calories per serving! 1 cup of mashed sweet potato is only 180 cals. There's a little sugar and a little butter but no cream or anything. I'm thinking that's the total recipe amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This recipe had such a beautiful presentation!!! It really wasn't that hard or time consuming to prepare! I read all the reviews before hand and took the following suggestions - I cut the oranges in half and used a grapefruit knife to cut out the orange, making sure to keep the peel in-tack. I wrapped the sweet potatoes in foil and baked them for about 1 hour to keep them from absorbing too much water and to enhance their flavor. Once cooled, I just squeezed out the flesh - no peeling necessary. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 a cup and used brown sugar instead of white sugar. I totally left out the butter - it did not need it, and boy did that save a lot of fat and calories! next time I will probably leave out the eggs as I thought they would hold the sweet potatoes more firmly together - but it did not make a difference - the texture was mushy so the eggs didn't add much. I added about 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the sweet potato mixture. As for the topping i wanted to make the topping as stated but I did not have whole pecans I made it with chopped nuts instead next time I will make it with the whole pecans. I used cut pieces of tin foil and wrapped it around the oranges as they baked so that the orange peel won't burn. If I don't use the eggs next time - i will just skip this step and not even bake the orange cups - as the filling was delicious before baked, and no eggs will lead me not to have to do this step. This got rave reviews from all of my guests! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States