Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
just loved it one of my favs!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I made these a while ago for a dinner party but forgot to review. These were simple to make, and very delicious. Definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This recipe was a huge Thanksgiving hit. I used half as much sugar and it was perfect. I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
these were a hit at my christmas dinner party.. putting the mashed sweet potato in the orange is a fresh twist to an old favourite! they are alot of work, so preparing them the day before is key. such a crowd pleaser, i will be making them annually from now on :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made these for Christmas. They were absolutely delicious. I used the orange juice from the orange in the potatoes. I added a couple mini marshmallows on top followed by pecan. They looked lovely on the table. They will become a holiday favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Exceptional presentation! They looked beautiful on the table. I brought them to my boyfriends family for Christmas dinner. Many of his family member are great cooks. They knew I spent a good amount of time on the preparation. I juiced and gutted the oranges the day before in front of the TV, I was done before I knew it. I used others advice and halved the sugar. I didnt know how to grate an orange peel so I just threw one that i had made a hole in into the foot processor. The sweet and bitter flavors went very well together. I didnt make the topping. Instead I just placed the pecans on top and sprinkled brown sugar on them before I baked them. Was amazing. I will make them again for a special occasion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simplylindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for Xmas, what a hit! I cut the oranges in half and filled them the night before with the mixture. The recipe makes quite a bit of filling. I took the extra and filled a small casserole dish with it. On Xmas I made the sauce and topped the oranges and extra dish I had made. I baked everything and it all came out yummy! I did put the orange bottoms in foil so they would not brown and look pretty when they were done baking. I pulled off the foil when they were done and served. Everyone raved and raved about them !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was AMAZING! I skipped the topping, and used brown sugar instead of white. I also set them on muffin tins and covered with foil to bake which increased the baking time to 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unicornnymph22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nanticoke, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this for Christmas Eve for my boyfriend's family and seriously this was truly an awesome recipe and it turned out AMAZING, it is also sweet enough to be used as a dessert as opposed to a side dish... Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These are lovely! I served them Christmas Eve alongside pork roast and green beans. Only problem was stirring the brown sugar into the melted butter; it separated (maybe I had the heat too high?). It was difficult to spread on the mashed sweet potatoes, but the presentation was beautiful and they tasted great. Note: if you cut too much off the bottom of your orange, and a hole appears when you remove the fruit, just wrap the bottom of the orange half in a little foil, then place it in the water bath. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States