Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This recipe was a huge Thanksgiving hit. I used half as much sugar and it was perfect. I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
these were a hit at my christmas dinner party.. putting the mashed sweet potato in the orange is a fresh twist to an old favourite! they are alot of work, so preparing them the day before is key. such a crowd pleaser, i will be making them annually from now on :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made these for Christmas. They were absolutely delicious. I used the orange juice from the orange in the potatoes. I added a couple mini marshmallows on top followed by pecan. They looked lovely on the table. They will become a holiday favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Exceptional presentation! They looked beautiful on the table. I brought them to my boyfriends family for Christmas dinner. Many of his family member are great cooks. They knew I spent a good amount of time on the preparation. I juiced and gutted the oranges the day before in front of the TV, I was done before I knew it. I used others advice and halved the sugar. I didnt know how to grate an orange peel so I just threw one that i had made a hole in into the foot processor. The sweet and bitter flavors went very well together. I didnt make the topping. Instead I just placed the pecans on top and sprinkled brown sugar on them before I baked them. Was amazing. I will make them again for a special occasion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simplylindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for Xmas, what a hit! I cut the oranges in half and filled them the night before with the mixture. The recipe makes quite a bit of filling. I took the extra and filled a small casserole dish with it. On Xmas I made the sauce and topped the oranges and extra dish I had made. I baked everything and it all came out yummy! I did put the orange bottoms in foil so they would not brown and look pretty when they were done baking. I pulled off the foil when they were done and served. Everyone raved and raved about them !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was AMAZING! I skipped the topping, and used brown sugar instead of white. I also set them on muffin tins and covered with foil to bake which increased the baking time to 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unicornnymph22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nanticoke, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this for Christmas Eve for my boyfriend's family and seriously this was truly an awesome recipe and it turned out AMAZING, it is also sweet enough to be used as a dessert as opposed to a side dish... Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These are lovely! I served them Christmas Eve alongside pork roast and green beans. Only problem was stirring the brown sugar into the melted butter; it separated (maybe I had the heat too high?). It was difficult to spread on the mashed sweet potatoes, but the presentation was beautiful and they tasted great. Note: if you cut too much off the bottom of your orange, and a hole appears when you remove the fruit, just wrap the bottom of the orange half in a little foil, then place it in the water bath. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I didn't use the teaspoon of flour it called for in the pecans, still great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made these for Christmas lunch and they were fantastic. Everyone loved them and they were so impressive to serve. Unlike other reviews, I didn't find it hard to scoop out the oranges at all, and I only cut down about half an inch. I used a dessert spoon with quite square edges which might have been what made it easier. I have a big sweet tooth so I made the recipe as is (and it was delicious) but next time I will do as some others suggest and cut the sugar in half and decrease the butter as I don't think either of those things would affect the taste much at all. I kept the oranges standing upright by fitting them in tightly next to each other in the casserole dish and didn't have any problems with the water in the dish this way. Next time I might trim a little flat bit on the bottom to make it easier for guests to keep still on their plates though. I made the recipe the day beforehand (minus the topping) and then made the topping and baked on the day, which worked really well. I also think I might play around the topping next time as well. The pecans are great and I think some cinnamon would compliment them well. A really impressive recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States