Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I tried this recipe last year for Thanksgiving but due to a mishap with the oven we weren't able to try them but I was told they were good. I did make them again at this years Thanksgiving and had to triple the recipe. I only used 1 1/2 cups of both sugars and they still came out pretty sweet but again tastey. So, I would cut back more on both the white sugar, brown sugar and also the number of eggs when tripling this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEPERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I hate sweet potatoes but this was unbelievable. I doubled the recipe, and baked the left over in an extra dish so i had the oranges for presentation, and the rest for seconds! They went over huge and looked like much more trouble than they really were
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Very good! Everyone loved them and asked for the recipe. I doubled the recipe and put half in oranges and the other half in a baking dish and used the same topping on both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe is Amazing, yummy, and such a neat idea. I didn't have OJ like another reader so I cut my oranges in half and used the juice. A helpful tip for getting all the pulp out, I was able to turn my oranges inside out and once I did that the cleaning out process went much easier and faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Great recipe, i did some things differently: used 1/4 c. butter, 1/2 c. brown sugar, used store bought toffee pecans on top. I could'nt get all the of the pulp out of all the oranges, and those turned out better! The ones i cleaned out perfectly to the pith were actually not so great, the bitterness flavored the potato. The oranges i left a little membrane and pulp were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Wonderful! I always try to include one new recipe for thanksgiving and this one was it. It was such a big hit it has made its way into our traditional meal for years to come. I ran out of oranges and used the rest of the filling and the topping in a casserole dish and also came out nice if you are looking for a quicker option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I have a very large family, so I made over 40 oranges. They were the biggest hit if the holiday. They have now become the Thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
excellent. novel presentation idea. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
So delicious - and I even used less sugar than what is called for. A real treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsyfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I made this as a side dish for a vegetarian dinner party. I thought it went over well. It was too sweet for some of my guests, others really liked it. I thought it was great, and a great presentation. Very unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States