Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Used Japanese sweet potatoes. Everybody just loved it. I did not hollow out the orange...wish I had. Exquisite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I loved this recipe and I used a juicer to remove the pulp and at the end of the sweet potatoes the orange that was left behind was delicious but time I'm going to put a little sugar down there next to the sweet potato with little nutmeg. But the main thing is to use a knife to serrate the top to make it look amazing and to put the knife all the way through so that it will come apart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cz375hh
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Unique and appealing to the eye and with great flavor for the taste buds what more could u ask from a sweet potato? I used a curved grapefruit knife to remove the flesh from the orange. Just half the orange and place them in a ramekin in a cooking tin filed with a 1/2 inch of water--this will prevent tip overs. Great recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is a visually beautiful dish. Just served it for Christmas dinner. It certainly made for a beautiful table beside a top notch prime rib. Few notes, next time I would cut the white sugar by half. I have a sweet tooth and they were still a bit too sweet for me. I also would cot the oranges in half as was previously suggested. This makes a better serving size (I bought really big oranges) for light eaters and children. I definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made these last year for Thanksgiving bruch, and the kids DEMANDED that I make them again this year!! They were a bit too sweet and orangy for my taste, so this year, I omitted the OJ and cut back to half the sugar. The best tip from the reviews: To scoop out the oranges, use your thumbnail inside the peel, push toward the center in a spiral motion. The stem side comes cut cleanest if using navel oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lena
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Hard to fail and a hit among our friends! Instead of baking it in oranges, my husband and I baked the batter in cupcake holders for the same length of time. It made 24 servings. We also added a dab of grated orange peel on top. Who would've thought such a combo of oranges & sweet potato would go this well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
As stated, I give it 4 stars. I only used 1/2 the amount of recommended sugar, and it was FABULOUS, definitely 5 starts! Oh my goodness, nothing but rave reviews at Christmas dinner. I wound up with lots of leftover potato mix and not enough oranges to fill, so I baked it like sweet potato pie for another potluck party with a candied pecan topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
this was a great tasting unusual addition to my thanksgiving dinner. i put each serving in ramekins, so everyone had their own. Everyone LOVED it! just a little sweet ( and i like sweet things). i chilled the pecan mixture overnight so they hardened, and then microwaved them in the morning so soften up and be placed on the sweet potato as pictured. otherwise the sweet mixture is too thin and will not look like the picture. they looked fantastic on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Cut butter and sugars in half, added some oatmeal to the topping, and this was amazing. Picky eaters at the table and not a dab left in anyone's orange shell. This will be a regular at the holiday table. Noting the reviews of others, I cut the oranges in half, juiced them and pulled the pulp right out. I planed the bottoms just a tad to level them in the pan. The shells stored easily in the frig overnight. This was an easy, winning dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
way to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States