Sweet-Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This is a great recipe! I skinned and boiled the sweet potatoes until they were soft.. then chopped them and put them in the blender until smooth. I used whole wheat flour as oppossed to white flour, did not you the allspice and added about half a teaspoon more of both cinnamon and nutmeg and cut down on the sugar. Came out delicious. Baking time for more like 40-45 minutes than 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
SO GOOD! I used a 40 oz. can of yams (drained & mashed), and added 1/2 c. milk...perfect - nice and moist, but not dense. I was able to make 6 jumbo-sized muffins & 5 regular-sized muffins. The jumbo muffins took 32 minutes, and the regular took 28 minutes. Also, used dried cranberries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mjmartin006
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I love this recipe, it is one of my favorites on here. I have made it several times, the only changes I make is I add 1 Tablespoon of Cinnamon and add 1/2 cup of milk, then bake it about 15 mins longer than the recipe calls for. I didn't have raisins, either so I added more walnuts. They are great for breakfast or a quick snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
These muffins were so moist and delicious, although admittedly a bit heavy. I did use whole wheat flour, which may have made them heavier, but they were still so good! I used 3 average-sized sweet potatoes and shreded them finely in the food processor. I'll make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Yum! Finally a way to get my kids to eat sweet potatoes! I left out the nuts, added some milk and cooked them for 15 extra minutes, they were perfect and my kids think they are cupcakes :) Surprisingly sweet and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I didn't have fresh sweet potato but I did have mashed. I used 12 oz, with a little butter that had been mashed in. I changed out butter for the oil and added in one mashed banana and one chopped, peeled apple. It smells in-sane. This recipe made 19 medium sized muffins. I'll update this tomorrow on how we all liked them, I can't imagine we wouldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I made these for my sons, ages 3 and 2, and they loved them! I didn't find them heavy at all. One large sweet potato provided the 4 cups, and shredding them was made easier with my food processor. Excellent recipe that I will use many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
My family loved these! I used leftover pureed sweet potatoes and omitted the allspice and nuts. In the end I added a little milk to moisten up the batter. They raised perfectly and smelled like heaven while baking. The taste was just as pleasing. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
The taste of these are very good. My only complaint is the texture is a little dense, but since they pack in so much beta-carotene, I can live with it. My kids liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMISSNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Wonderful spice blend and what a wonderful aroma! My husband could barely wait for them to cool down to an edible temperature... When I first combined the dry and wet ingredients I thought I would need to add more liquid, but after a good stir the batter came together nicely. Had to bake them a little longer than called for. I'll definitely make them again. And again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States