Sweet-Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
My family loved these! I used leftover pureed sweet potatoes and omitted the allspice and nuts. In the end I added a little milk to moisten up the batter. They raised perfectly and smelled like heaven while baking. The taste was just as pleasing. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Very tasty and love the idea of giving the kids such a nutritious snack. However,I shredded the sweet potato in the food processor and it did not "disappear" while baking. It looked almost the same as it did raw. Next time I'll try to puree it more because my daughter took one look and would't try it! Made them again and shredded the potato finer. Better than ever!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
A friend of ours generally will not eat anything made with sweet potatoes. He thought that we were attempting to keep the "banana nut muffins" away from him. After eating several muffins, he still refuses to believe that these muffins have sweet potatoes as the main ingredient. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Well, I had some leftover white and sweet potatoes and this seemed like a good use for them. I followed the recipe fairly closely, however, I always try to make a recipe a bit healthier. Therefore, in place of one of the cups of flour, I used 1 1/2 cups flax flour I concocted in my coffee grinder. I also changed the focus a bit, substituting the nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon, raisins and walnuts for 1 cup coconut and 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Kids like chocolate, don't you know. Thanks for sharing this great recipe. Amy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
This is a FABULOUS recipe! I have been looking for a sweet potato muffin recipe for a long time. The ONLY changes I made were to use Golden raisins (soaked in hot water first), dark brown sugar, and to add bigger chunks of sweet potato at the end. I used the 4 cups of shredded potato, but when I was putting the batter in the pan, I added a few chopped pieces of blanched sweet potato to each muffin. The chunks are tatsty and a nioce reminder of what is in the muffin. The shredded pieces all but disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
DEELISH!!!!! Noah, age 4, who hates any kind of potato there is, ate three of these nutrition packed muffins in a matter of minutes.(I'm gonna have to start packing squash this way too :-)I did have to add a little milk but I likely had too much flower. Someone previously commented on the aroma!!!!!!!! OH MY........We don't need Yankee Candles anymore. Just make these babies. Oh, I also hate walnuts so left those out. Thank you Jen for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Wonderful spice blend and what a wonderful aroma! My husband could barely wait for them to cool down to an edible temperature... When I first combined the dry and wet ingredients I thought I would need to add more liquid, but after a good stir the batter came together nicely. Had to bake them a little longer than called for. I'll definitely make them again. And again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
The taste of these are very good. My only complaint is the texture is a little dense, but since they pack in so much beta-carotene, I can live with it. My kids liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMISSNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
These muffins were so moist and delicious, although admittedly a bit heavy. I did use whole wheat flour, which may have made them heavier, but they were still so good! I used 3 average-sized sweet potatoes and shreded them finely in the food processor. I'll make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I made these for my sons, ages 3 and 2, and they loved them! I didn't find them heavy at all. One large sweet potato provided the 4 cups, and shredding them was made easier with my food processor. Excellent recipe that I will use many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States