Sweet-Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
My substitutions: a 40 oz can of yams in light syrup, drained; 2 t pumpkin pie spice; apple cider to thin out the batter. I left out the raisins. These are moist and delicious, and definitely a high energy food. One large muffin is a healthy breakfast in itself. I love walnuts, and I added 1 cup chopped, but pecans would also do nicely, I'm sure. These are wonderful served with whipped cream, too! They get even better with age. The batter definitely required some thinning and the cooking time is longer than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Yum! Finally a way to get my kids to eat sweet potatoes! I left out the nuts, added some milk and cooked them for 15 extra minutes, they were perfect and my kids think they are cupcakes :) Surprisingly sweet and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
My family loved these! I used leftover pureed sweet potatoes and omitted the allspice and nuts. In the end I added a little milk to moisten up the batter. They raised perfectly and smelled like heaven while baking. The taste was just as pleasing. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Very tasty and love the idea of giving the kids such a nutritious snack. However,I shredded the sweet potato in the food processor and it did not "disappear" while baking. It looked almost the same as it did raw. Next time I'll try to puree it more because my daughter took one look and would't try it! Made them again and shredded the potato finer. Better than ever!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
A friend of ours generally will not eat anything made with sweet potatoes. He thought that we were attempting to keep the "banana nut muffins" away from him. After eating several muffins, he still refuses to believe that these muffins have sweet potatoes as the main ingredient. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Well, I had some leftover white and sweet potatoes and this seemed like a good use for them. I followed the recipe fairly closely, however, I always try to make a recipe a bit healthier. Therefore, in place of one of the cups of flour, I used 1 1/2 cups flax flour I concocted in my coffee grinder. I also changed the focus a bit, substituting the nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon, raisins and walnuts for 1 cup coconut and 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Kids like chocolate, don't you know. Thanks for sharing this great recipe. Amy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
This is a FABULOUS recipe! I have been looking for a sweet potato muffin recipe for a long time. The ONLY changes I made were to use Golden raisins (soaked in hot water first), dark brown sugar, and to add bigger chunks of sweet potato at the end. I used the 4 cups of shredded potato, but when I was putting the batter in the pan, I added a few chopped pieces of blanched sweet potato to each muffin. The chunks are tatsty and a nioce reminder of what is in the muffin. The shredded pieces all but disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
DEELISH!!!!! Noah, age 4, who hates any kind of potato there is, ate three of these nutrition packed muffins in a matter of minutes.(I'm gonna have to start packing squash this way too :-)I did have to add a little milk but I likely had too much flower. Someone previously commented on the aroma!!!!!!!! OH MY........We don't need Yankee Candles anymore. Just make these babies. Oh, I also hate walnuts so left those out. Thank you Jen for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Wonderful spice blend and what a wonderful aroma! My husband could barely wait for them to cool down to an edible temperature... When I first combined the dry and wet ingredients I thought I would need to add more liquid, but after a good stir the batter came together nicely. Had to bake them a little longer than called for. I'll definitely make them again. And again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
The taste of these are very good. My only complaint is the texture is a little dense, but since they pack in so much beta-carotene, I can live with it. My kids liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMISSNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States