Sweet-Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Great recipe! I used yams because i did'nt have sweet potatoes, dried cranberries (soaked them in hot water for a bit first, then drained them of course) instead of raisins, and left out the nuts. I also added a pinch of cloves. Everyone loved them. I'll be making these alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Love this recipe. I've made it two ways -- once with shredded fresh yams and once with canned, unsweetened yams. I use a golden raisin/dried cherry mix instead of the raisins, and I add more. I also use pumpkin pie spice and add about a teaspon of freshly ground cardamom (also known as cilantro seed or coriander). These make closer to two dozen normal sized muffins, which are filling enough. Popular with baby boys, who seem to have magically learned to say "cake"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
These were really good and lasted for several days. I had sweet potatoes left over from Christmas, so I made a double batch less the nuts. My young kids really liked them too. I will be keeping this recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
they were hearty and good. Very filling. These would be good to take cross country skiing or on a hike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Linn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This is a great recipe! I skinned and boiled the sweet potatoes until they were soft.. then chopped them and put them in the blender until smooth. I used whole wheat flour as oppossed to white flour, did not you the allspice and added about half a teaspoon more of both cinnamon and nutmeg and cut down on the sugar. Came out delicious. Baking time for more like 40-45 minutes than 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Yummy and popular with the little ones - it just comes out a bit dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Amazing! I wasn't too sure what to expect and I was a bit skeptical when I was mixing the egg mixture witht he flour mixture. I was pleasantly surprised! These muffins are wonderful. My new favourite! Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKYBJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
My substitutions: a 40 oz can of yams in light syrup, drained; 2 t pumpkin pie spice; apple cider to thin out the batter. I left out the raisins. These are moist and delicious, and definitely a high energy food. One large muffin is a healthy breakfast in itself. I love walnuts, and I added 1 cup chopped, but pecans would also do nicely, I'm sure. These are wonderful served with whipped cream, too! They get even better with age. The batter definitely required some thinning and the cooking time is longer than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Yum! Finally a way to get my kids to eat sweet potatoes! I left out the nuts, added some milk and cooked them for 15 extra minutes, they were perfect and my kids think they are cupcakes :) Surprisingly sweet and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States