Sweet-Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
these were tasty, next time i want to try them with chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I didn't have fresh sweet potato but I did have mashed. I used 12 oz, with a little butter that had been mashed in. I changed out butter for the oil and added in one mashed banana and one chopped, peeled apple. It smells in-sane. This recipe made 19 medium sized muffins. I'll update this tomorrow on how we all liked them, I can't imagine we wouldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I had leftover sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving....so I gave these muffins a shot. I was worried that they were going to be too dense, but they were fine. They are,of course, heavier than a typical muffin...but not to the point of being distasteful. In fact they tasted wonderful. I didn't have walnuts so I added pecans and I did precook and mash the sweet potatoes beforehand. I will make these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is a yummy recipe -- I literally just ate one and had to write a review. It is a somewhat untraditional muffin recipe for me as I'm used to batters that are more liquid, but I took a leap of faith and did everything as instructed (with the exception of a couple of substitutions), and they are perfect. DO the raw shredded sweet potato, not mashed already cooked. I substituted coconut oil for canola and fresh cranberries for the raisins. SO GOOD, and my toddler and preschooler loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
i used some mashed sweet potato and batter was very dense, but came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
SO GOOD! I used a 40 oz. can of yams (drained & mashed), and added 1/2 c. milk...perfect - nice and moist, but not dense. I was able to make 6 jumbo-sized muffins & 5 regular-sized muffins. The jumbo muffins took 32 minutes, and the regular took 28 minutes. Also, used dried cranberries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I have been searching for a sweet potato muffin, and decided to try these. I found these muffins to be ok, they have a good flavour but are extremely dense. My family enjoyed it. But I do not think I will make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe was great...WITH MODIFICATIONS. Instead of grated sweet potato, I steamed and pureed mine. I lessened the sugar to just one cup (could have lessened it even more I think and it would've tasted great!). The mixture was kind of dense. So I added about 1/4-1/2 cup of milk to give it a more runny mixture. I doubled the eggs to help in that process too. But looking back, I probably could have gotten away with just the 2 eggs and maybe mixed the yolk mixture with the wet ingredients. And beat the egg whites to a stiff peak and add it later for a lighter mixture? I also added coconut oil, instead of canola. They came out fabulous and the smell throughout the house was GREAT. Who needs Yankee candles with this recipe?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I did find these pretty dense, but that isn't to say they are bad. Don't expect fluffy, light muffins, but rather something unique, heavy and delicious. I really liked these. I used applesauce in place of the oil and used a cranberry/raisin/seed/nut mix for the walnuts and raisins. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I used applesauce instead of the eggs, and found that I had to add a little milk for moisture,I also replace the brown sugar for splenda brown sugar because my husband is diabetic. but otherwise this is an awesome recipe. My kids and husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States