Sweet-Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Before adding the shredded sweet potato, I squeezed some liquid out of it. The first time I didn't and the muffins took extra long to cook. They are delicious and I love how moist they are. I also didn't add the walnuts...added semi-sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I added 1/2 cup milk, left out the allspice (didn't have any), and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. It WAS a little heavy, but not unbearably so, and my picky 12 year old thought they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe to the "T",..and they tasted exactly like sweet potato pie. No need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This recipe was great! They kind of taste like pumpkin with a kick. I first diced and boiled the sweet potatoes and then mashed them by hand. I omitted the allspice and nutmeg, added a little clove powder instead, and tripled the cinnamon. I also kept out the raisins and walnuts due to personal taste. The muffins were very heavy which I ended up liking because then I only eat one (even though my mouth wants more!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
My home was filled with the sweet aroma of lovely pumpkin pie!! These muffins are hands-down the best!!! I followed the recipe to the letter except the walnuts which I didn`t have. I will make this again, you betcha!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
My hubby said that these were the best muffins he has ever had! I really enjoyed making the recipe. I ran out of walnuts so added a half cup of almonds to make up for the loss. So tasty and moist, and the cooking times were accurate for me. I had more batter than expected, so after filling 12 muffin cups to the brim I used a mini loaf pan and used up the rest. the mini loaf took an extra five minutes in the oven but it came out beautiful! Thanks for such a great recipe, this will be a new staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardiner, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made half the recipe, used 2 cups of leftover Sweet Potato cassarole then added the nuts, raisins and 1/2 cup fresh cranberries. Topped with a struessel made of 2 T melted butter, Cinnamon, Brown sugar and oatmeal. Took about 27 mins in the oven. It's a dense muffin and even the 2YO declaired it was a good muffin. Great w a glass of OJ! This might be our new Black Friday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 54321kath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These were delicious. I used some leftover cooked sweet potatoes, about 2 cups and added them to the WET ingredients, mixing on low speed. I then added the wet to the dry and mixed again. I did add 1/2 c milk (soy milk) to thin the batter a little. I did not add walnuts or raisins, as we're not big fans here. I then filled the muffin cups about 2/3 full, getting 24 muffins out of it. I baked them for 20 minutes. My whole family thought they were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
o.m.g YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These are delicious, but I think I messed up somehow because they are more like hockey pucks than muffins: squat and dense (but MUCH tastier). Still worthy of 4 stars though_ they're that good! I think the problem is that I tried to conserve energy by baking a quiche at the same time so the oven was too moist. Baked for 65 minutes and the center still resembles mashed potato. Any suggestions? I would definitely like to try again and post an update!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States