Sweet Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This is a pretty good Sweet Potato recipie, however, unless you really LOVE cloves, use a bit less. I tried a 1/2 tea. and they were very nice. Very flavorful and different, my kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Very tasty. I prefer nutmeg in sweet potatoes rather than cloves so I substituted and used a 1/2 tsp. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
These were tasty, easy, and cheap, which are my three requirements these days (I live in nowheresville Peru on a peace corps volunteer salary). I love that it snuck some protein in with the eggs, and I actually got a meal of GOOD carbs, instead of white bread, white rice, or pasta. I didn´t have cloves, so I left that out, and I made Pineapple sauce to serve with it. An excellent recipe that I will use a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
This is a terrific recipe for Hanukkah. My whole family loves it and it is now a tradition for me to make this every year. The recipe is no more difficult to make than regular potato latkes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Pretty good! I didn't have any cloves so I left them out, but they tasted good anyway. Very sweet and desert-like. Make sure you cook them until they're really brown and look burnt around the edges...I undercooked some of mine and they weren't as good as the crispy ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Consider using 1/2 tsp clove. I wish the amount of sweet potato was specified by cup, since they vary so widely in size. Try substituting a little white potato for sweet potato, for variety in texture and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Very good, we used a 50/50 sweet potato/yukon gold mix as others suggested and it was a great change from regular latkes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I'm giving this a 4 instead of 3 because it's a nice idea. However, more sugar is needed and it's missing something else I can't put my finger on...it might be nice to mix sweet and regular potatoes and try it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
We tried these for a change this year and they were a huge success. I agree that you don't need so much clove so I reduced the cloves by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I omitted the cloves and used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable~ very interesting texture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States