Sweet Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These were too sweet for me, and I think if I made them again I would spice them differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Best latkes we've ever had! (I made a few changes) Add 1 green apple for every 2 sweet potatoes, rinsed & grated (this is all the sugar you need...don't add brown sugar) Don't add eggs - this makes the latkes heavy, just use about 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour... enough flour to make ingredients "stick" together and form cakes. Salt and Pepper are the best spices for latkes... hold out on the cloves/cinnemon. Use Peanut and/or Vegetable oil for frying. The green apples compliment to the sweet potatoes and help with the texture. No need for apple sauce, just sour cream with these yummy latkes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I was SOO excited when I found this recipe and had been planning it for a week. I prepared the exactly as the recipe listed for the first couple Latkes and thought they were very bland. I ended up (after trying for several little batches) making the following changes: 2tbs brown sugar, 2 1/2 tsp cinnamon, used 1 tbs wheat flour with 1 tbs white flour, and added 1/4 cup minced onion. After all the changes they were pretty good; but I dipped them in a lot of apple sauce and sour cream. I think the changes make them edible, but I would definitely make the original latkes over this version any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Went over very well. I added a little more flour and cinnamon along with some nutmeg and skipped on the cloves. Only bad part is they don't hold very well over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My family and I liked this recipe. It was a little sweetness. Great with honey mustard chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Lots of flavor, but definitely needs some sort of dip. We tried ranch and that just wasn't it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I didn't find these very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Creek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
My husband and I love baked sweets and we love grilled sweets and thought this would be a natural - but they were too sweet and spiced. I think next time we make them, we will try leaving out cloves, cutting the sugar a little, maybe just a little brown sugar and a bit of ginger. It was pretty funny though - we made them an a day when the A/C was on and the windows shut - and hubby said the house smelled like Christmas cookie baking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
These were OK.. I prepared them just as listed, probably won't bother with them again unless I make some changes. I may try them with yams rather than sweet potato???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Nice addition for Thanksgiving dinner. Serve as appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaNa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States