Sweet Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Absolutely abysmal! They didn't stay together, they stuck to the pan, and tasted like nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Had far to strong clove flavor. Didn't stay together. Would no make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
they did not hold together well, so I ended up making hash browns...still good. I took the suggestion of others to cut the cloves in half, glad I did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This calls for way too much cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
My kids loved this dish and they are picky eaters that hate trying new things. I did make a few modifications to get them to our liking. I guess my potatoes were on the bigger size so it took an extra egg & tbsp of flour to hold them together. I also substituted the cloves with nutmeg and added a little salt. I fried them in coconut oil and when plating them I drizzled honey over the top. I recommend letting the mixture sit for an hour in the fridge before frying. They seem to fall apart if you don't let them sit a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
My wife just made this with the suggested 2 teaspoons of cloves- That was way too much cloves-it gave it a bitter taste as if eating a thick leaf off of a tree... I would suggest little to none on the cloves...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
kind of mushy, but tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Really good, but needed something more. Spice, maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These were tasty, but I figured 2 teaspoons of clove would be WAY too much, so I used only 1/2 teaspoon and they were perfect. They are better when made small, maybe 2" in diameter. They fried up nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
It should give the number of cups or size of potatoe to use since they vary so much. I would use 2 cups shredded and add pancake flour, eggs, etc. to make them hold together then pan fry. Brown on both sides and put on tray in oven until all are cooked. This insures they are cooked through and not raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States