Sweet Potato (Kumara) Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I used 2 sweet potatoes and 3 turnips. It worked well but decided I'm not a fan of turnips. I liked the sweet potatoes. The amount of flour was perfect for this amount of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
My husband & kids ate these sweet potatoes, which is saying a lot. I agree with another reviewer who suggested using chili powder instead of the dry mustard. I'm not a fan of the dry mustard in this particular recipe. Cumin + a little sugar is a good twist, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
We really loved this recipe! We made it one week and then again the following! I did cut down a bit on the amount of flour and I substituted the mustard powder for cayenne pepper. I also added about 2 teaspoons of sugar. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I come from NZ too (now live in Australia). I used real kumara not the orange sweet potato. Used less flour,1 heaped Tbsp. The mustard complemented the sweetness of the Kumara. Thanks Nikki, a taste from the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Loved these!! I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and forgot to add the flour but it turned out fine in my opinion. Served with a bit of sour cream on the side, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
After reading reviews, I made this recipe as directed, but dotted with butter. The flour came out brown and crispy. I would make this again. But don't forget to dot the butter. Otherwise the flour doesn't brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AtlantaPeaches

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Great alternative side dish! Lots of flavor and balanced sweetness. I usually don't like sweet potatoes because the preparations are always too sweet for dinner time. I scaled back on the flour (1T), added a 1/4t chili powder, and a heavy pinch of kosher salt. I also tossed the potatoes on the sheet after the first 10 min of cook time to give them a little roll in the oil. Serving these with a dollop of plain greek yogurt is a great alternative to sour cream. Big hit at my table!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Wonderful! Needed to be turned halfway through. Excellent for someone on a budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Tip for crisp potatoes without turning - I put the potatoes on a cooling rack on my baking sheet when cooking to allow it to crisp up on all sides. The recipe ingredients were perfect, the only thing that needed changing was the method of preparation. I lightly tossed the potatoes with oil then added to ziploc of spices. After tossing I put on a cooling rack placed in a jellyroll pan lined with foil. I didn't have any trouble with too much flour as other reviewers did -- probably because I tossed with oil first. Next time I might try adding some melted butter when tossing with the oil for a yummier, though unhealthier version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Delicious! We followed the recipe exactly, and didn't feel they needed any sauce for dipping. Even the child that doesn't like sweet potatoes loved this one. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States