Sweet Potato (Kumara) Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Decent side dish. Enjoyed it, but it didn't take center stage. A little too much flour for only two potatoes. Try 1/8 cup or more potatoes. Also, try a little chili powder instead of mustard powder and then have a selection of mustards on the side for dipping (that's the way I like it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
We really loved this recipe! We made it one week and then again the following! I did cut down a bit on the amount of flour and I substituted the mustard powder for cayenne pepper. I also added about 2 teaspoons of sugar. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
My husband & kids ate these sweet potatoes, which is saying a lot. I agree with another reviewer who suggested using chili powder instead of the dry mustard. I'm not a fan of the dry mustard in this particular recipe. Cumin + a little sugar is a good twist, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Tip for crisp potatoes without turning - I put the potatoes on a cooling rack on my baking sheet when cooking to allow it to crisp up on all sides. The recipe ingredients were perfect, the only thing that needed changing was the method of preparation. I lightly tossed the potatoes with oil then added to ziploc of spices. After tossing I put on a cooling rack placed in a jellyroll pan lined with foil. I didn't have any trouble with too much flour as other reviewers did -- probably because I tossed with oil first. Next time I might try adding some melted butter when tossing with the oil for a yummier, though unhealthier version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
The potatoes didn't get brown unless you turned them. A since they were cut into wedges you could not get all sides brown. I even tried brushing with oil. Next time I will season the oil, omit the flour and cut into slices and turn half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I was not thrilled with these. They tasted very bland. Too much pepper. Maybe try them in a pan instead of in the oven. I don't think I would try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
These were pretty good. I think that you could use less flour. I enjoyed the paprika and mustard flavors together. I used 2 sweet potatoes and 2 parsnips, which worked nicely. The texture was nice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I come from NZ too (now live in Australia). I used real kumara not the orange sweet potato. Used less flour,1 heaped Tbsp. The mustard complemented the sweetness of the Kumara. Thanks Nikki, a taste from the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
wow, I have to say, these were the worst things that has come out of my kitchen in a while. not sure exactly what went wrong, but they didn't brown and they tasted very bland; all around super disappointing. I won't give it just one star because I'm sure part of the failure was my fault. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
The spices were really good, but yeah way too much flour in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by florence.emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States