Sweet Potato (Kumara) Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Decent side dish. Enjoyed it, but it didn't take center stage. A little too much flour for only two potatoes. Try 1/8 cup or more potatoes. Also, try a little chili powder instead of mustard powder and then have a selection of mustards on the side for dipping (that's the way I like it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
My husband & kids ate these sweet potatoes, which is saying a lot. I agree with another reviewer who suggested using chili powder instead of the dry mustard. I'm not a fan of the dry mustard in this particular recipe. Cumin + a little sugar is a good twist, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
The potatoes didn't get brown unless you turned them. A since they were cut into wedges you could not get all sides brown. I even tried brushing with oil. Next time I will season the oil, omit the flour and cut into slices and turn half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
These were pretty good. I think that you could use less flour. I enjoyed the paprika and mustard flavors together. I used 2 sweet potatoes and 2 parsnips, which worked nicely. The texture was nice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I was not thrilled with these. They tasted very bland. Too much pepper. Maybe try them in a pan instead of in the oven. I don't think I would try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Sorry, but this recipe was bad, will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Worked fine for us. Substituted the chili powder for mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
We really loved this recipe! We made it one week and then again the following! I did cut down a bit on the amount of flour and I substituted the mustard powder for cayenne pepper. I also added about 2 teaspoons of sugar. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I come from NZ too (now live in Australia). I used real kumara not the orange sweet potato. Used less flour,1 heaped Tbsp. The mustard complemented the sweetness of the Kumara. Thanks Nikki, a taste from the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Didn't want the oven temp that high as I was reheating some BBQ Pork so I parboiled the sweet potato for about 15 minutes, sliced it, sprinkled with the mustard, paprika, pepper and salt, drizzled with olive oil and baked for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees. The slices weren't crispy without the flour, but even so it was a tasty side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States