Sweet Potato Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Using 2 large sweet potatoes instead of 3 and 3 T sesame seeds instead of tahini, I found this to be delicious, especially with chunks of apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I loved this recipe, and even my kids who don't really like hummus and definitely don't like squash, ate it. I had some roasted butternut squash so I used that instead of sweet potatoes. I also blended 2 T. sesame seeds in my blender before adding the rest of the ingredients, instead of using tahini. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
In all fairness, I didn't really follow the recipe.. skipped the garbanzo beans all together and just used sweet potatoes. Added cumin, garlic, olive oil, chili oil, salt and tahini to taste. Its a wonderful idea for changing up the old hummus routine, and the recipe is flexible enough to suit anyones taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Oh wow! This is one of the best recipes on this site. Absolutely LOVE it!! The coriander is a key ingredient and gives the recipe a distinctive taste. Please do not make the recipe without it and then review it with only 3 stars because the recipe was 'bland'. I did substitute 2 T. toasted sesame seeds for the tahini because I didn't have the latter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I love this recipe. I use 3 Tbsp of olive oil,one clove of garlic,( I make my own tahini by roasting sesame seeds and grinding, so easy), added 4 Tbsp of lemon juice and lime zest because I use the myer lemon and they just don't zest well. Great hummas!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryAnne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Amazing recipe. We loved it. We substituted 2 Tbsp sesame seeds, toasted and ground up and a bit more olive oil for the 2 Tbsp tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I really liked this recipe a lot, and will be making it again. I'm giving it four stars, because I felt that something was missing. I added a couple of cloves of garlic as per others' suggestions, and that really brought all the flavors together nicely. Everyone really enjoyed this, and asked for the recipe. I may see how some fresh cilantro tastes next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I love this recipe - as many do, I just tweaked after I made it the first time to add more of the spices that I love - the original recipe itself is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Just finished with this recipe,it is definitely a keeper finished the top with a stream of molasses and pine nuts.It`s beautiful to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I used only one sweet potato and microwaved it for 4 minutes to cut down cooking time. Also only one cup of garbanzo beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jose Leduc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States