Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe...my boyfriend was less keen but it could just be partially due to his distain for "white sauce." I didn't find it hard to make for someone who has only minimal experience making fresh pasta. I took some reviewers' advice and added the last 3/4 cup of flour gradually while I was rolling it out and made sure my hands and surface were well-floured. I did find them a bit bland when I first cooked them but WOW they tasted fabulous when I reheated them the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
As a home chef, there's nothing worse than spending money and a good chuck of your time, to have a recipe turnout like this. This recipe as written, has absolutely no taste. I even grated fresh nutmeg and used fresh sage and still nothing. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was a pretty decent recipe. I think next time I make it I will omit the nutmeg. I didn't care for that particular taste. I think I will try the brown sugar and a touch of cinnamon next time. The recipe was easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I found some tricks that makes handling the dough much easier. I put the dough in a zip lock bag and placed it in the fridge over night so that it would be a bit firmer. I then cut a small hole in the corner of the bag and just squeezed out a tube of dough onto my floured surface. I would also add a bit more salt then the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I am a complete novice when it comes to making any kind of pasta from scratch, but this turned out great! I'm an AR photo addict but I won't be submitting a photo this time as mine didn't look very pretty! Tasted good though. I had a tough time getting the hang of forming the little gnocchi 'pillows', but I eventually got it. I used probably 1 1/2 cups of flour. They seemed quite chewy to me right after cooking, but surprisingly, they were MUCH softer & more enjoyable when I reheated leftovers. I'll definitely try making these again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodByLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Exactly what I was looking for. Wonderful texture and very subtle flavor. I used whole wheat flour. Served with Rosemary Pasta Roasted Garlic Sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it with stone ground wheat flour, and just used my fingers to make little tiny drop pasta. So yummy with vodka sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
My daughter and I made these one evening and had a great time! I microwaved one large yam for 15 minutes and the skin came right off. I left out the garlic because we wanted a sweeter gnocchi. They were wonderful!! They turned out much lighter than the regular potato ones we made before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Orovada, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I thought I would be clever and use my pasta machine to help make this. I pulled out my 15 year old machine (I'm guessing it's about 15 years old because my oldest child is 13 and who has time to make pasta when you have kids?)and was thrilled to find that it still works! Sadly, it didn't save me any time. It took me over an hour to make this delicious gnocchi. I don't have a scale so I measured out 2 cups of cooked sweet potato. I put all of the ingredients in the pasta machine and quickly discovered there wasn't nearly enough flour. I only had 1 cup of white flour, so the rest was whole wheat flour. I probably added about 3/4 cup more than the recipe required, and it could have used a bit more. It was difficult to get the dough to extrude because it was so sticky, but I persevered. Here's the good news: My family LOVED it! My 13 year old announced that she wouldn't be eating it, but agreed to taste it. That turned into a full portion. My 4-1/2 year old does not like sweet potatoes; he doesn't like much. He didn't even want to try it, though he helped me to make it. I finally prevailed and he tried one, and he proceeded to eat all that I had put on his plate. He said, "Hey, this is good!" In summary, this is a delicious recipe and if I could order it pre-made, I would eat it all the time. Since it took SO long to make it myself, and I really don't enjoy being in the kitchen, my rate of consumption will be much lower. If I'm lucky, someone else will make it the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I cut this in half and had so many I think it could serve 3-4! Delicious. Popped them directly into saute pan from boiling water, got some texture with butter (sub - Brummel), pine nuts and sage. So fast, would make a great on the spot appetizer for guests, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States