Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I am still experimenting with recipe, i just tried it last night. So far, I agree with the suggestion to put the dough into a zip plastic bag and cut a small hole in one corner and squeeze it out. I squeezed right into the pot of boiling water as someone suggested. Changes i've made so far, instead of nutmeg, I added curry...inspired by pumpkin curry soup that is delicious. I would like to make a sauce for it that would start by sauteeing cut up pieces of bacon or pancetta until crisp, adding diced onions until transparent, then stirring in flour and finally milk...salt and pepper. Then remove from heat and stir in parmesan cheese and peas...like in a tortellini sauce. I'll try it out and report back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I thought this was a wonderful recipe. I cut the recipe in half because I only had one sweet potato and used only one cup of flour. It made enough for a healthy portion/side dish with some pork chops I made. I also made a brown butter sauce with sage and then topped it off with some freshly grated parmesan cheese and it was really, incredibly good! Thanks for this recipe, it was easy to make and turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
i didnt have them by themselves but had them in soup. they were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe...my boyfriend was less keen but it could just be partially due to his distain for "white sauce." I didn't find it hard to make for someone who has only minimal experience making fresh pasta. I took some reviewers' advice and added the last 3/4 cup of flour gradually while I was rolling it out and made sure my hands and surface were well-floured. I did find them a bit bland when I first cooked them but WOW they tasted fabulous when I reheated them the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
As a home chef, there's nothing worse than spending money and a good chuck of your time, to have a recipe turnout like this. This recipe as written, has absolutely no taste. I even grated fresh nutmeg and used fresh sage and still nothing. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was a pretty decent recipe. I think next time I make it I will omit the nutmeg. I didn't care for that particular taste. I think I will try the brown sugar and a touch of cinnamon next time. The recipe was easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I found some tricks that makes handling the dough much easier. I put the dough in a zip lock bag and placed it in the fridge over night so that it would be a bit firmer. I then cut a small hole in the corner of the bag and just squeezed out a tube of dough onto my floured surface. I would also add a bit more salt then the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I am a complete novice when it comes to making any kind of pasta from scratch, but this turned out great! I'm an AR photo addict but I won't be submitting a photo this time as mine didn't look very pretty! Tasted good though. I had a tough time getting the hang of forming the little gnocchi 'pillows', but I eventually got it. I used probably 1 1/2 cups of flour. They seemed quite chewy to me right after cooking, but surprisingly, they were MUCH softer & more enjoyable when I reheated leftovers. I'll definitely try making these again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodByLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Exactly what I was looking for. Wonderful texture and very subtle flavor. I used whole wheat flour. Served with Rosemary Pasta Roasted Garlic Sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it with stone ground wheat flour, and just used my fingers to make little tiny drop pasta. So yummy with vodka sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States