Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Im with you .I make Gnocchi all the time was very disapointed ,Used a lot less four and still they were heavy with no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I liked it, but my family didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I was so excited about this dish but it ended out not that great. The nutmeg does not work well. Maybe it would be better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made them pretty much as listed. Since a number of posters commented they were a tad lacking in flavor I just added 1/4 tsp each of fresh ginger and cinnamon. Hubbby (who is not a sweet potato fan) and daughter (who likes her gnocci the "normal and plain" way) were not at all sure about this.....but both ended up liking it/would ask that I make it again. Gnocci is tricky...the important thing is consistency. I used the 2c of flour as mentioned which was just right. I was careful to add slowly/stir it in evenly and even went to the extra effort of using a flour sifter on the flour to avoid making it lumpy at all costs. I hand rolled them....no need for them to be sooo sticky you need to squirt them out of a bag like frosting.......but you do stop adding flour just at the point the dough is rollable and it will not be a "dry dough" or they will turn out tough. Gnocci is kinda like bread...you have to do it a few times to get the "feel" of what is just the right amount of flour for the right texure. Good gnocci is wonderful/bad gnocci is tough and hideous. Most restauraurant gnocci is sadly the latter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My mother used to make these when I was a kid. After cutting them into sections she used to roll them with the back tines of a fork for a better look and more uniform cooking. I served them as a side with a simple lemon pepper butter drizzle and they were great. A good recipe and I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jollywolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
really tasty! I used a large butternut squash instead of sweet potatoes, and ended up adding an extra 1/2 cup of flour to reach the right texture. I took the advice of one of the other reviewers and put all of the dough into a large zip-lock bag, cut a corner off and squeezed it out. I used kitchen shears to snip bite sized pieces into the boiling water (beware the splash back!)and let them boil until they floated to the top. After they were done cooking, in a separate pan, I heated up some olive oil and butter and sauteed some garlic. I added italian spices, salt and pepper and tossed it and some parmesan on the top of the hot gnocchi. It was SO good!!! My husband loved it, and so did I. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I found this to be ever so bland...followed the recipe exactl except more fresh garlic...made a light cream sauce to spoon over the top.....it was quite time consuming, even making the sweet potatoes in the microwave! Not our tastes at ALL....sorry...this is the first recipe I have tried and was dissatisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonne Terre, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I am still experimenting with recipe, i just tried it last night. So far, I agree with the suggestion to put the dough into a zip plastic bag and cut a small hole in one corner and squeeze it out. I squeezed right into the pot of boiling water as someone suggested. Changes i've made so far, instead of nutmeg, I added curry...inspired by pumpkin curry soup that is delicious. I would like to make a sauce for it that would start by sauteeing cut up pieces of bacon or pancetta until crisp, adding diced onions until transparent, then stirring in flour and finally milk...salt and pepper. Then remove from heat and stir in parmesan cheese and peas...like in a tortellini sauce. I'll try it out and report back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I thought this was a wonderful recipe. I cut the recipe in half because I only had one sweet potato and used only one cup of flour. It made enough for a healthy portion/side dish with some pork chops I made. I also made a brown butter sauce with sage and then topped it off with some freshly grated parmesan cheese and it was really, incredibly good! Thanks for this recipe, it was easy to make and turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
i didnt have them by themselves but had them in soup. they were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States