Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This recipe was Super Easy! I used leftover sweet potato and it made the recipe a piece of cake. I can't wait to try them with a sage butter sauce. I'm wondering if they'll taste too garlicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Loved it - even without the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onfiya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These were delicious and made for a filling dinner with a restaurant-y feel! I used a lot less flour than the recipe called for (a little over 1 cup), which is why I can't give the full 5 stars. This is a recipe worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Gluten free option: 1 cup white rice flour, 3/4 cup potato starch, 1/4 cup corn starch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE518

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Yum! My whole family will be enjoying this gnocci all year. From pulling the already cooked potatoes out of the freezer, to putting the dishes in the dishwasher, I was in the kitchen about 2 hours. I thought the recipe was perfect, and didn't feel the need to change a thing, though I didn't actually measure how much flour I put in. Like other reviewers have said, the dough has to be obnoxiously sticky. I roll mine into logs, keeping the outside coated with lots of flour. I had enough potatoes to make 4 batches of the recipe, so I froze my well-floured dumplings individually on cookie sheets, then moved them into a baggie. Now they're ready to boil whenever we get the craving for gnocci. My favorite preperation is to saute some garlic and sage in butter, then add the boiled gnocci just long enough to get a little crisp on the outside. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
The sweet potatoes took a super long time to bake in the oven...much longer than the recipe said. It was a pretty sticky dough but don't add too much flour and make your gnocchi tasteless either. I think mine turned out pretty good. I served them with a simple brown butter and they were really filling. My husband and I both had two servings from this batch and I probably have another 3 servings I put into the freezer for another day. It was a little bit bland, though, I'm not sure what else you could add to it to make it more exciting but it was a nice comfort food on next to no money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This gnocchi is worth the work, but it is REALLY important to use a ricer or SLIGHTLY MASH with two fork very gently and spread it out in a thin layer to cool to room temperature. You have to be super gentle while mixing in the flour as well. The technique (and it really IS a technique) can be seen in videos online and is important to follow so as to get light, soft gnocchi instead of dense little blobs. Another important point - don't add too much flour (again, it will become dense) and let the "dough" rest for 5 minutes before rolling/shaping. I strongly urge anyone to check out some videos first to make your gnocchi experience a pleasurable one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
The gnocchi turned out great!! I followed the recipe as written and my husband and I enjoyed it very much. The sauce I made was an improvised brown butter with sage with crumbled up bacon. Once the butter is brown and sage is fried, I tossed in the gnocchi and cooked bacon and cooked until it was warmed through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkathleenm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Very, very good. I used pumpkin instead of sweet potato because my 9 month old has a sweet potato intolerance. His stomach just won't keep them down. I can only imagine what it is like with sweet potato. I used a decorators tip and disposable pastry bag, which made clean up very easy and the execution of this recipe much neater. I served this with alfredo sauce and oven baked italian chicken. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made this last night and we thought it was great! Because it was already 9 pm and it was on an impulse I didn't want to have to wait for the potatos to cook so I just sent my husband to the store for canned sweet potatos. They are in a light syrup so I just rinsed them off with cold water and they worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States