Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Ohhh boy. These are alot of work, but they are extremely tasty, especially with a little butter and salt. This recipe is very time consuming, and for me at least - took longer than the prep time listed here - about an hour to get the dough ready, and then roll and cut all the bits of dough. With that being said, they are worth all the hard work and elbow grease. (I upped the garlic to 3 cloves , because I love garlic) They were VERY VERY yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidcallous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These were a little too sweet for my taste and a little gummy too. The texture might have been my fault, but the flavor was just not there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
While it takes time, this was an easy enough recipe to put together. I used about 1 1/2 cups of flour (including the flour to roll out the dough) and it came out well though it was kind of a messy process. Next time, I will use the top reviewer's tip of putting the dough in a bag and squeezing it out. I served this with Giada DeLaurentis' sage brown butter sauce which you can find on the Food Network website or another version on this site too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was delicious and just fun to make. Tossed it with a nice sage-butter sauce and fresh Parmesan. Goes great with roast chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Reece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
To shorten the prep time for this, I microwave the sweet potatoes in a "potato bag" for 5-10 minutes (instead of the 30-50 minutes you need for baking). They come out just as soft and pliable as baking but it cuts the time almost in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnakoski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Came out great. I saw someone wanted a recommendation for a good sauce so here you go. I used a cream sauce that also works great with butternut squash raviolis. 1 jar of Bertolli alfredo sauce, 1 TBSP brown sugar and 1 TSP of maple syrup, dash of salt & pepper. The sauce is sweet , but you can alter the sugar/syrup to your own taste. I also sprinkle with toasted walnuts or pecans for a garnish. Might also be good with just a butter, brown sugar and sage sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Too much nutmeg, it's overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Way too much nutmeg for my liking. It was a lot of effort for 'meh' results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This recipe was Super Easy! I used leftover sweet potato and it made the recipe a piece of cake. I can't wait to try them with a sage butter sauce. I'm wondering if they'll taste too garlicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Loved it - even without the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIYAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States