Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Two tips to make this a 30-minute meal instead of 2-3 hours as one reviewer said. 1. Use precooked sweet potato or butternut squash (in the frozen section of your supermarket). 2. Make the dough a squeezable rather than rollable consistency and put it in a pastry bag or ziploc bag (as another reviewer suggested). Squeeze the dough a little at a time and cut with kitchen shears right into your pot of boiling water. You'll have to pause and scoop out the floaters as they finish cooking, but this method is much faster than hand rolling the dumplings. And, in my opinion, the amount of flour you have to use to make the gnocchi rolling consistency completely ruins the texture and flavor of the gnocchi. Mine came out tender and delicate not gummy and doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I was out at a local restaurant that served sweet potato gnocchi, so I figured I would try them. Wow! I had never had gnocchi before, but the idea intrigued me. I then bought some pre-made regular ones at Costco. I'm glad I didn't start with those! After the restaurant, I came to this faithful site and found the perfect recipe. At the restaurant, they had just melted butter and added finely sliced sage. The combination is heaven...and I'm not a big fan of sage...at all! I grow it in my garden, because it is well behaved and pretty. Now, after having it out there for 15 years, I actually will use it. Just typing this is making me want to make up a batch. Oh, it freezes beautifully. I had enough for four separate meals. It makes enough to make it worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
easy to make and delicious. I made a light cream sauce to serve with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Netsy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
the texture is much chewier than regular gnocchi.. ill stick to the regular pillows next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These were pretty ok. Easy to make. Served them with a bleu cheese sauce. Needed something though. Can't put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
They are 'okay' I found them very bland. I don't see myself making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyEverhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
very good. I cooked them and drizzled oil oil with a sprinkle of salt and sugar on top. My kids all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Easy to make, delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Word of caution with this one, don't use pumpkin as a substitute for the sweet potato. Unless it's from a can I suppose, but I tried this one with the original recipe and they were awesome. Then I had a small pie pumpkin that was getting old so I baked it up and tried to use it..... not the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Like some other contributors, I added a sprinkle of cinnamon and some brown sugar to the sweet potato. I also baked the potatoes for much longer, close to 50 minutes. I was nervous that the garlic wouldn't cook fast enough and would taste raw but I chopped it very small and it added a nice bit of flavor. I still wish they were a bit more flavorful and will try to find something else to add to the dough itself. I served with some pre-made alfredo sauce from Trader Joe's and cracked fresh pepper on top. A salad of baby spinach/mandarin orange made a nice accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States