Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Rather than rolling the dough. I piped it in long rows on wax paper with my accent decorator gun, froze it & then cut them into small pastas. I also added a pinch of cinnamon & orange zest. Plan to serve with vanilla bean cognac sauce & lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin:D

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Super interesting...love sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I only gave this 2 stars just because it was the first time that I tried this and it didn't turn out at all. The potatoes that I thought were sweet potatoes ended up being purple potatoes and I think thats part of the reason it didn't turn out. They were really soft and not at all like the gnocchi that my boss had made. Sad it didn't turn out but I know that if I keep working at it these they would be amazing. Great idea...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madera, California, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Two tips to make this a 30-minute meal instead of 2-3 hours as one reviewer said. 1. Use precooked sweet potato or butternut squash (in the frozen section of your supermarket). 2. Make the dough a squeezable rather than rollable consistency and put it in a pastry bag or ziploc bag (as another reviewer suggested). Squeeze the dough a little at a time and cut with kitchen shears right into your pot of boiling water. You'll have to pause and scoop out the floaters as they finish cooking, but this method is much faster than hand rolling the dumplings. And, in my opinion, the amount of flour you have to use to make the gnocchi rolling consistency completely ruins the texture and flavor of the gnocchi. Mine came out tender and delicate not gummy and doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I was out at a local restaurant that served sweet potato gnocchi, so I figured I would try them. Wow! I had never had gnocchi before, but the idea intrigued me. I then bought some pre-made regular ones at Costco. I'm glad I didn't start with those! After the restaurant, I came to this faithful site and found the perfect recipe. At the restaurant, they had just melted butter and added finely sliced sage. The combination is heaven...and I'm not a big fan of sage...at all! I grow it in my garden, because it is well behaved and pretty. Now, after having it out there for 15 years, I actually will use it. Just typing this is making me want to make up a batch. Oh, it freezes beautifully. I had enough for four separate meals. It makes enough to make it worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
easy to make and delicious. I made a light cream sauce to serve with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Netsy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
the texture is much chewier than regular gnocchi.. ill stick to the regular pillows next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These were pretty ok. Easy to make. Served them with a bleu cheese sauce. Needed something though. Can't put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
They are 'okay' I found them very bland. I don't see myself making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyEverhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
very good. I cooked them and drizzled oil oil with a sprinkle of salt and sugar on top. My kids all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States