Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Oh Yum! These are so good!! I followed the recipe except I used 1 cup white flour, and one cup whole wheat. I followed the suggestion of another cook, and used an icing bag to squeeze out the dough. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is it's a little more time consuming than i thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I boiled the potatoes instead of baking them (wasn't paying attention), but I don't think it mattered. It was quick though. Also, I used a spaetzle maker and made the dough the consistency of spaetzle. I think this worked, except that I put too much into the water at a time and possibly overcooked it, making the noodles a bit mushy. As far as taste goes, I had to add more salt (and I'm not a salt-aholic) and some pepper. We ate the noodles in alfredo sauce with chicken and peas as a mash-up and it was good (and colorful). This recipe has real promise. I'm going to try it again and be more careful with the boiling to see if the texture improves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This was my first attempt at gnocchi and definitely not worth the effort. I love sweet potatoes, and I'm not sure what I was expecting, but these came out like gummy, tasteless blobs of dough! I ended up throwing away most of sticky stuff after tasting the first samples. Maybe a different recipe with more seasonings to flavor the dough, and working on my size/shape technique would have better results, but I probably won't be making gnocchi again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanna_maki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Used butternut squash and half a head of roasted garlic, tossed it with a sage brown butter sauce. Good, but not great; definitely not worth the time it took. Perhaps I added too much flour? The dough was still sticking to my hands and seemed almost too soft to "roll" (managed to squeeze it into tubes), but they were a little gummier than I'd like my gnocchi and the flavor of the squash was so subtle as to be practically unnoticeable. Perhaps I'll try again with sweet potato. The roasted garlic flavor was great, so I'll keep that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
These were delicious. I have been making traditional potato gnocchi for years (from an old family recipe) and decided to try sweet potato - WOW! I topped them with a little bit of butter infused with fresh sage. Can't wait to make them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
A suggestion for those cooks having trouble rolling and cutting the dough: Try putting the dough in a floured pastery bag (or a Ziplock with a corner cut out will do) and squeezing it out like toothpaste. Then slice off bits with a sharp knife to make appropriate-sized dumplings. You can squeeze them right into the pot of boiling water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
IMPORTANT TIP: baking the potatoes took about 50 minutes - not 30. Also, it took forever to cut up the pasta (probably because I didn't do big dough balls). I would plan about 2-3 hours for this recipe. PREP TIPS: I added brown sugar and cinnamon to enhance the flavor of the sweet potatoes. Also, regarding the flour thing, I think the key is to follow the recipe when adding flour to the dough. Then, when you are actually rolling out the pasta, make sure the surface on which you are working and your hands are well floured. This will keep it from being too sticky and ending up looking like dumplings. Also, the person who said the smaller the better was VERY right. If you make the pieces of pasta large, you will end up with extremely filling dough balls. If you want it to be like pasta, and not dumplings, you need to keep it small. I went with flat, squares & rectangles about 1" x 1" to 1" x 2" (still very filling). Also, I used the tofu cream sauce recipe on this site, using vanilla soy milk instead of plain (to add sweetness and match the pasta) and it was awesome!! Even my husband, who is not a vegetarian, loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kasson, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I never made gnocchi before, and I'm not a "practiced cook". This came out spectacular. Like someone else said- its got to stick to itself more than your hands. I added flour to this until it was "rollable". I tossed it with a little virgin olive oil and salt and it was great. I think next time I'll try adding some additional flavoring to it, maybe cinnamon, brown sugar, etc. I think anything you'd add to a sweet potato recipe would work well with this recipe. Thanks so much for providing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I was ok, but not my thing with the sweetness of the potatoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I failed miserably at this one! Too much flour in recipe?? Resembled little dumplings with the texture of rubber. I think I need practice in the art of gnocchi making!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States