Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I made a half recipe to use up leftover sweet potatoes, and thought they turned out great! I made them quite small (about the size of the end of my thumb). Anyone complaining about the lack of flavour... um... have you ever had potato gnocchi? These are how they're supposed to be. Hint: cook the sweet potato in the microwave. Just wash the outside, stab it a few times with a knife, and nuke until soft (expect 15-30 min). Then cut in half and scoop out flesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I got rave reviews when I made this for dinner! I served it with vodka sauce and pieces of chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbl_h

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Pretty tasty, but kind of heavy. We enjoyed these, but you can't eat too many because they're kind of rich. I think the nutmeg sounds like a strange ingredient, but it somehow worked. I had some trouble getting the right consistency to the dough, but I did enjoy watching the cooked gnocci pop up to the top of the water while cooking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Too much work for too little return. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I love sweet potatoes, I've made gnocchi lots of times, however, this recipe falls short...very gooey dough? added more and more flour, added more nutmeg and salt. flavorless...ended up making a butter, brown sugar, maple syrup glaze sauce and that tasted good but mainly the sweetness covered up the bland gnocchi. a waste of sweet potatoes. sorry will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Very labor intensive and kind of bland. Potatoes took forever to bake. Ended up mashing in a food processor. Rolled into very small snakes a little bit at a time, as recommended by another poster, and that made it okay. But ultimately too much effort for "eh" reactions from the hubby and kid. Actually, kid refused to eat it. Hubby ate it, but didn't say anything. Used the remainder of the dough mixed with brown sugar and cinnamon to make fritters that we're eating with honey butter. It tastes much better fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This recipie is a neat idea, but I found it to be too bland for my liking. Also, it took considerably longer than the instructions said it would because the dough kept sticking to my hands. I used slightly less than 2 cups flour and actually think I should have used more like 1 cup. I may try this again adding brown sugar and cinnamon to the gnocchi to add more flavor. One note to other cooks: make sure you put plenty of flour on your rolling pin AND on top of the dough before rolling it out. Otherwise the dough will stick all over everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielleKIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Based on the reviews, I added a lot more salt, some minced onion and some lemon herb spice, no nutmeg. After gradually mixing in all the flour, it was still too sticky to work with so I kept adding more flour. I think I ended up with about 3 cups in total! It still was hard to work with, even after I squeezed it out of a bag. Half I boiled as per recipe, the other half I felt guilty about throwing out so I added some oil and baking powder and tried baking like biscotti. Shaped into a log, baked for 35 min @ 300. Cooled for 10, cut into 3/4 inch slices and baked again @ 275 for 10 more minutes. It ended up being sort of like a soft bread stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starvinstudent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I found this dish very heavy in the stomach. It is too floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States