Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I gave this recipe 3-stars before, because my attempt came out very soggy and not very appetising. However, I have since played with the recipe a bit, getting a better idea of "soft dough" (it should stick to your hands, but stick to itself more...if that makes sense) and now I LOVE this recipe. Worth the effort - filling, tasty, and great with blue cheese or alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
our family thought these were wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
These were delicious. I have been making traditional potato gnocchi for years (from an old family recipe) and decided to try sweet potato - WOW! I topped them with a little bit of butter infused with fresh sage. Can't wait to make them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Takes a while to "drip" the gnocchi out of the plastic bag but eventually I got my groove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Yay for the dinner-saving gnocchi! I made this after discovering I had gotten sweet potatoes instead of russet... so chili baked potatoes weren't going to work anymore and I needed a new recipe fast. I had everything I needed to make this recipe, and it was really easy. We had it with alfredo sauce, but next time I may go with a less garlicky sauce, or possibly butter and parm. I thought it was easy enough to roll out like a play-doh snake and cut into pieces. Just keep flouring everything like when you make sugar cookies (your hands, the dough, the cutting board) and it'll work fine. My family loved it! I cooked about 1/3 of the batch right away, and froze the rest as dough (already cut into pieces) for later. Yay for amazingly delicious gnocchi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This recipe was SO OH good! I did make a few changes as per my own taste. First, I used whole wheat flour. Second, I ommitted the nutmeg, as I didn't have any. Lastly, I steamed some baby spinach, cut it up and added that to the dough. I put the dough through a ziplock bag with a corner cut off and squeezed it into the pot, cutting every inch or so. Also, I microwaved the sweet potato per another reviewer's suggestion. It cut the cook time down to about 8 mins per sweet potato. This recipe is great and easy to customize. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I never made gnocchi before, and I'm not a "practiced cook". This came out spectacular. Like someone else said- its got to stick to itself more than your hands. I added flour to this until it was "rollable". I tossed it with a little virgin olive oil and salt and it was great. I think next time I'll try adding some additional flavoring to it, maybe cinnamon, brown sugar, etc. I think anything you'd add to a sweet potato recipe would work well with this recipe. Thanks so much for providing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I've made gnocci several times in the past and actually found this recipe more user-friendly than others. I followed it but subbed a little whole wheat flour (maybe 1/4 cup). Here are my gnocci tips:refrigerate the dough to make it easier to handle; don't let the water be rapidly boiling when you drop your gnocci in (I bring it do a rolling boil and then let it slow down before I put the gnocci in, I think it agitates them too much if it's boiling to hard). Finally, sometimes the gnocci texture is a bit to "raw" seeming for me so I brush them with olive oil and stick them under the broiler on a cookie sheet for a few minutes on each side. The texture is sumptuous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Didnt use nutmeg, But loved it without! Awesom recipe! very easy! Also found out that It comes out good if you shape it into really tiny balls or ovals! Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States