Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
A suggestion for those cooks having trouble rolling and cutting the dough: Try putting the dough in a floured pastery bag (or a Ziplock with a corner cut out will do) and squeezing it out like toothpaste. Then slice off bits with a sharp knife to make appropriate-sized dumplings. You can squeeze them right into the pot of boiling water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
421 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I gave this recipe 3-stars before, because my attempt came out very soggy and not very appetising. However, I have since played with the recipe a bit, getting a better idea of "soft dough" (it should stick to your hands, but stick to itself more...if that makes sense) and now I LOVE this recipe. Worth the effort - filling, tasty, and great with blue cheese or alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
IMPORTANT TIP: baking the potatoes took about 50 minutes - not 30. Also, it took forever to cut up the pasta (probably because I didn't do big dough balls). I would plan about 2-3 hours for this recipe. PREP TIPS: I added brown sugar and cinnamon to enhance the flavor of the sweet potatoes. Also, regarding the flour thing, I think the key is to follow the recipe when adding flour to the dough. Then, when you are actually rolling out the pasta, make sure the surface on which you are working and your hands are well floured. This will keep it from being too sticky and ending up looking like dumplings. Also, the person who said the smaller the better was VERY right. If you make the pieces of pasta large, you will end up with extremely filling dough balls. If you want it to be like pasta, and not dumplings, you need to keep it small. I went with flat, squares & rectangles about 1" x 1" to 1" x 2" (still very filling). Also, I used the tofu cream sauce recipe on this site, using vanilla soy milk instead of plain (to add sweetness and match the pasta) and it was awesome!! Even my husband, who is not a vegetarian, loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kasson, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I made a half recipe to use up leftover sweet potatoes, and thought they turned out great! I made them quite small (about the size of the end of my thumb). Anyone complaining about the lack of flavour... um... have you ever had potato gnocchi? These are how they're supposed to be. Hint: cook the sweet potato in the microwave. Just wash the outside, stab it a few times with a knife, and nuke until soft (expect 15-30 min). Then cut in half and scoop out flesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I never made gnocchi before, and I'm not a "practiced cook". This came out spectacular. Like someone else said- its got to stick to itself more than your hands. I added flour to this until it was "rollable". I tossed it with a little virgin olive oil and salt and it was great. I think next time I'll try adding some additional flavoring to it, maybe cinnamon, brown sugar, etc. I think anything you'd add to a sweet potato recipe would work well with this recipe. Thanks so much for providing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
These were delicious. I have been making traditional potato gnocchi for years (from an old family recipe) and decided to try sweet potato - WOW! I topped them with a little bit of butter infused with fresh sage. Can't wait to make them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I boiled the potatoes instead of baking them (wasn't paying attention), but I don't think it mattered. It was quick though. Also, I used a spaetzle maker and made the dough the consistency of spaetzle. I think this worked, except that I put too much into the water at a time and possibly overcooked it, making the noodles a bit mushy. As far as taste goes, I had to add more salt (and I'm not a salt-aholic) and some pepper. We ate the noodles in alfredo sauce with chicken and peas as a mash-up and it was good (and colorful). This recipe has real promise. I'm going to try it again and be more careful with the boiling to see if the texture improves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I really liked these, but thought it definitely needed a sauce. If anyone makes these and finds a good sauce, please post it because I would like to make them again! I used less flour than what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RUBES1
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
These tasted good- very subtle sweetness from the sweet potatoes & such a nice subtle garlic flavor (I added in 2 med/large cloves instead of only 1). Then since I can't eat alfredo sauce due to high cholesterol, I tossed the gnocchi in olive oil & roasted garlic slices & then added in a few dashes of a garlic chilli spice mix. Delicious, though I'm sure w/ alfredo sauce it would have been out of this world. The reason I can't give it 5 stars is because the dough was very sticky, but I feared adding in more flour b/c a reviewer mentioned his/hers coming out hard. Maybe I added in too much flour b/c I remember restaurant gnocchi as being much mushier, not ressembling cooked pasta. When rolling out, this isn't supposed to feel like a regular pasta dough , it shouldn't be dry & maybe it is supposed to be very sticky so they come out mushy like in the restaurants. I rolled my dough "logs" on a floured surface, so the inside was still sticky, but the outside was fine. They expand in the water so make them small. I think the smaller the better. The other reason I give this recipe 4 & not 5 stars is b/c it didn't come out as asthetically pleasing as I had hoped (though I'll still risk it & post a photo). Still want to try this again after I've done my HW on how to handle gnocchi dough. The ingredients are great, but it's the amounts of flour I'm not sure about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I failed miserably at this one! Too much flour in recipe?? Resembled little dumplings with the texture of rubber. I think I need practice in the art of gnocchi making!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States