Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I had all the hopes that this would be similiar to a fanastic sweet potatoe gnocchi that we had in Italy. Unfortunately it was anything but that....It ended up tasteless and like dough rocks. We were very dissapointed. I would like to give the recipe one more chance, we will cross our fingers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I really liked these, but thought it definitely needed a sauce. If anyone makes these and finds a good sauce, please post it because I would like to make them again! I used less flour than what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
our family thought these were wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RUBES1
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
These tasted good- very subtle sweetness from the sweet potatoes & such a nice subtle garlic flavor (I added in 2 med/large cloves instead of only 1). Then since I can't eat alfredo sauce due to high cholesterol, I tossed the gnocchi in olive oil & roasted garlic slices & then added in a few dashes of a garlic chilli spice mix. Delicious, though I'm sure w/ alfredo sauce it would have been out of this world. The reason I can't give it 5 stars is because the dough was very sticky, but I feared adding in more flour b/c a reviewer mentioned his/hers coming out hard. Maybe I added in too much flour b/c I remember restaurant gnocchi as being much mushier, not ressembling cooked pasta. When rolling out, this isn't supposed to feel like a regular pasta dough , it shouldn't be dry & maybe it is supposed to be very sticky so they come out mushy like in the restaurants. I rolled my dough "logs" on a floured surface, so the inside was still sticky, but the outside was fine. They expand in the water so make them small. I think the smaller the better. The other reason I give this recipe 4 & not 5 stars is b/c it didn't come out as asthetically pleasing as I had hoped (though I'll still risk it & post a photo). Still want to try this again after I've done my HW on how to handle gnocchi dough. The ingredients are great, but it's the amounts of flour I'm not sure about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I gave this recipe 3-stars before, because my attempt came out very soggy and not very appetising. However, I have since played with the recipe a bit, getting a better idea of "soft dough" (it should stick to your hands, but stick to itself more...if that makes sense) and now I LOVE this recipe. Worth the effort - filling, tasty, and great with blue cheese or alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Really good - a heck of a lot of work. I think I used too much sweet potato because I found the dough to be really sticky and hard to work with. BUT a ncie change of pace from regular pasta and VERY filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Didnt use nutmeg, But loved it without! Awesom recipe! very easy! Also found out that It comes out good if you shape it into really tiny balls or ovals! Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I failed miserably at this one! Too much flour in recipe?? Resembled little dumplings with the texture of rubber. I think I need practice in the art of gnocchi making!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I was ok, but not my thing with the sweetness of the potatoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I never made gnocchi before, and I'm not a "practiced cook". This came out spectacular. Like someone else said- its got to stick to itself more than your hands. I added flour to this until it was "rollable". I tossed it with a little virgin olive oil and salt and it was great. I think next time I'll try adding some additional flavoring to it, maybe cinnamon, brown sugar, etc. I think anything you'd add to a sweet potato recipe would work well with this recipe. Thanks so much for providing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States