Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
WOW! I made this after Thanksgiving. I cooked the gnocchi in turkey soup and it was awesome! As many reviews suggested have lots of flour and keep the gnocchi small. Uncooked they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Great recipe! I used the suggestions of previous reviewers and changed a few things. I used butternut squash instead of potato, and mixed it all together in a ziplock bag. Once I got a good consistency to the dough, I cut a hole in the corner, and used it like an icing bag to make the shape. Delish with a little balsamic vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Im with you .I make Gnocchi all the time was very disapointed ,Used a lot less four and still they were heavy with no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I liked it, but my family didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I was so excited about this dish but it ended out not that great. The nutmeg does not work well. Maybe it would be better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made them pretty much as listed. Since a number of posters commented they were a tad lacking in flavor I just added 1/4 tsp each of fresh ginger and cinnamon. Hubbby (who is not a sweet potato fan) and daughter (who likes her gnocci the "normal and plain" way) were not at all sure about this.....but both ended up liking it/would ask that I make it again. Gnocci is tricky...the important thing is consistency. I used the 2c of flour as mentioned which was just right. I was careful to add slowly/stir it in evenly and even went to the extra effort of using a flour sifter on the flour to avoid making it lumpy at all costs. I hand rolled them....no need for them to be sooo sticky you need to squirt them out of a bag like frosting.......but you do stop adding flour just at the point the dough is rollable and it will not be a "dry dough" or they will turn out tough. Gnocci is kinda like bread...you have to do it a few times to get the "feel" of what is just the right amount of flour for the right texure. Good gnocci is wonderful/bad gnocci is tough and hideous. Most restauraurant gnocci is sadly the latter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My mother used to make these when I was a kid. After cutting them into sections she used to roll them with the back tines of a fork for a better look and more uniform cooking. I served them as a side with a simple lemon pepper butter drizzle and they were great. A good recipe and I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jollywolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
really tasty! I used a large butternut squash instead of sweet potatoes, and ended up adding an extra 1/2 cup of flour to reach the right texture. I took the advice of one of the other reviewers and put all of the dough into a large zip-lock bag, cut a corner off and squeezed it out. I used kitchen shears to snip bite sized pieces into the boiling water (beware the splash back!)and let them boil until they floated to the top. After they were done cooking, in a separate pan, I heated up some olive oil and butter and sauteed some garlic. I added italian spices, salt and pepper and tossed it and some parmesan on the top of the hot gnocchi. It was SO good!!! My husband loved it, and so did I. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I found this to be ever so bland...followed the recipe exactl except more fresh garlic...made a light cream sauce to spoon over the top.....it was quite time consuming, even making the sweet potatoes in the microwave! Not our tastes at ALL....sorry...this is the first recipe I have tried and was dissatisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonne Terre, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I am still experimenting with recipe, i just tried it last night. So far, I agree with the suggestion to put the dough into a zip plastic bag and cut a small hole in one corner and squeeze it out. I squeezed right into the pot of boiling water as someone suggested. Changes i've made so far, instead of nutmeg, I added curry...inspired by pumpkin curry soup that is delicious. I would like to make a sauce for it that would start by sauteeing cut up pieces of bacon or pancetta until crisp, adding diced onions until transparent, then stirring in flour and finally milk...salt and pepper. Then remove from heat and stir in parmesan cheese and peas...like in a tortellini sauce. I'll try it out and report back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States