Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
for those of you who complain of these being more like dumplings than pasta....IT IS DUMPLINGS. Gnocchi fall into the dumpling category and are not pasta just because they are italian in nature. pay attention to the recipe and be mindful in adding the flour, bit by bit. it should resemble a cookie dough. you can shape the gnocchi after you've cut them, for instnce by rolling them gently under the tines of a fork. you can season them to taste, and sweet potatoes are delicious with flavors other than the generic pie spices. great additions are parmesan cheese, curry, garlic, sage and other herbs. just dont overwork the dough, be gentle with it. try simple sauces like butter and sage, or a light basil or arugula pesto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Very easy and turned out great. It was definitely too moist for rolling and cutting; the squeeze bag and scissors method worked well, except for the boiling water splashing back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and thought it was a nice change from the usual mashed sweet potatoes. It took about 1 3/4 c flour to get my dough to the right consistency, and with my work surface and hands well-floured, I didn't have any trouble working with it. I like my sweet potato dishes on the sweet side, so I decided to make a butter/maple/sage sauce to go on top of these (about 1/4 c butter, 2 tbls olive oil, handful of sage, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 c REAL maple syrup). Melt butter with olive oil in a pan, add the sage, then immediately add the cinnamon and syrup. Toss with the gnocchi and serve promptly. You can add more syrup if you want more sweetness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This recipe can be a little tricky--try adding flour just a little at a time until the dough is workable. Too much flour will make it tough. I saute these after they are boiled, in a little butter with sage and garlic. I'm serving this for Thanksgiving for my vegetarian husband--who loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOBrien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Fantasitc and easy! ended up using a lb and a half of sweet potatoes and 2c of flour for the right consistency... made an amazing sauce with shitakis, shallots, butter, little maple syrup, little brown sugar, rosemary and light cream.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this last week to rave reviews. Hubby isn't a fan of gnocchi but he loved this and was disappointed that there were no leftovers. Served it with a mushroom garlic pasta sauce and a bit of parmesan. I'll make it again this week for company. I used white whole wheat flour and only needed 1 1/2 cups. While not perfect looking, they came out perfectly textured and only needed a couple of minutes to cook in the boiling water. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I loved these! I used 2 med size yams. I ended up using almost 4 cups of flour that's part of what i used on the board to roll out the dough (really it was more like streaching it out). It was sticky but i did knead it a bit longer adding a bit more flour each time. I did try it with alittle brown sugar about 2 tbs and some cinnimon, as recomend by some others. I also tossed them with some evoo when the came out of the pot. I served it with a mushroom alfreado sause(bought) and some baked chicken breast. I would totally make this for company! fyi: They freeze well, not quite as pretty looking, but oh so tasty. (froze with sauce and chicken)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shananananan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I subbed butternut squash for the sweet potatoes, and just put some butter and romano cheese on it when it was still hot. Delicious, melt-in-your-mouth goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I think I added too much flour, but I still ended up really liking it...not at first, but it grew on me. Next time I'll try less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
It was ok, not bad, but no good. My husband and I weren't terribly impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States