Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
excellent nutrious meal. i used a holladaise sauce and it was great. did 3 cloves of garlic as well. will do alot of this cause it is easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
These were fabulous. I prepared them a few hours in advance and placed them on a sheet of wax paper/cookie sheet in the fridge. They were fine and maybe the cooling firmed them up a bit and made for a nicer and even cooking. Once removed from the water I put them right into a pan with shallots, parsley and butter...YUMMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I used the bag method. It worked great, but i had to add a lot of extra flour. I served it with a cream sauce but i think that butter and cinnamon would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This took 1h30 min start to finish, and I baked the potatoes in the microwave. The tip about "soft dough" was dead on, and I also took the other advice on here and added cinnamon and brown sugar (just a touch of the former and 1 1/2 tsp of the latter). I only used probably 1 1/2 cups of the flour for the recipe itself, and another 1/4 for the rolling of the dough. Once the gnocchi were all boiled, I stir-fried them with olive oil and 3 more chopped garlic cloves and served it topped with fresh basil and grated parmesan. Next time I make this, I'll use my plastic cutting board; the gnocchi ended up tasting a little like the wood from the one I used. Anyone know how to find the tofu cream sauce recipe someone else mentioned? Couldn't find it and it sounds yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Loved this dish! very easy to make, I didn't make any changes to the recipe. I served this tossed in mint pesto, and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was a lot easier than I figured. I used cinnamon since I didn't have any nutmeg. I didn't measure the flour, just kept adding until right consistency. Very yummy, and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I'm not a great cook...and have never made gnocchi before, but this turned out okay. The recipe is good, the only things I'll change in the future have to do with my cooking style. For example, you might want to make the individual gnocchi's smaller rather than bigger to help with cooking, and make sure you use flour when rolling it out...pretty sticky, but the end product is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I made this with pureed butternut squash because I had it left over and finely ground white spring wheat flour. I put the dough into a plastic kitchen storage bag, twisting the top to extrude through the cut off corner. I used a sharp kitchen scissors (love my Joyce Chens) to cut right into the boiling water. That was easy and mess free. These were very good and light in texture, but will make again with sweet potatoes to compare the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
for those of you who complain of these being more like dumplings than pasta....IT IS DUMPLINGS. Gnocchi fall into the dumpling category and are not pasta just because they are italian in nature. pay attention to the recipe and be mindful in adding the flour, bit by bit. it should resemble a cookie dough. you can shape the gnocchi after you've cut them, for instnce by rolling them gently under the tines of a fork. you can season them to taste, and sweet potatoes are delicious with flavors other than the generic pie spices. great additions are parmesan cheese, curry, garlic, sage and other herbs. just dont overwork the dough, be gentle with it. try simple sauces like butter and sage, or a light basil or arugula pesto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Very easy and turned out great. It was definitely too moist for rolling and cutting; the squeeze bag and scissors method worked well, except for the boiling water splashing back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States