Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This recipie is a neat idea, but I found it to be too bland for my liking. Also, it took considerably longer than the instructions said it would because the dough kept sticking to my hands. I used slightly less than 2 cups flour and actually think I should have used more like 1 cup. I may try this again adding brown sugar and cinnamon to the gnocchi to add more flavor. One note to other cooks: make sure you put plenty of flour on your rolling pin AND on top of the dough before rolling it out. Otherwise the dough will stick all over everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielleKIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Based on the reviews, I added a lot more salt, some minced onion and some lemon herb spice, no nutmeg. After gradually mixing in all the flour, it was still too sticky to work with so I kept adding more flour. I think I ended up with about 3 cups in total! It still was hard to work with, even after I squeezed it out of a bag. Half I boiled as per recipe, the other half I felt guilty about throwing out so I added some oil and baking powder and tried baking like biscotti. Shaped into a log, baked for 35 min @ 300. Cooled for 10, cut into 3/4 inch slices and baked again @ 275 for 10 more minutes. It ended up being sort of like a soft bread stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starvinstudent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I found this dish very heavy in the stomach. It is too floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Oh Yum! These are so good!! I followed the recipe except I used 1 cup white flour, and one cup whole wheat. I followed the suggestion of another cook, and used an icing bag to squeeze out the dough. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is it's a little more time consuming than i thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I boiled the potatoes instead of baking them (wasn't paying attention), but I don't think it mattered. It was quick though. Also, I used a spaetzle maker and made the dough the consistency of spaetzle. I think this worked, except that I put too much into the water at a time and possibly overcooked it, making the noodles a bit mushy. As far as taste goes, I had to add more salt (and I'm not a salt-aholic) and some pepper. We ate the noodles in alfredo sauce with chicken and peas as a mash-up and it was good (and colorful). This recipe has real promise. I'm going to try it again and be more careful with the boiling to see if the texture improves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This was my first attempt at gnocchi and definitely not worth the effort. I love sweet potatoes, and I'm not sure what I was expecting, but these came out like gummy, tasteless blobs of dough! I ended up throwing away most of sticky stuff after tasting the first samples. Maybe a different recipe with more seasonings to flavor the dough, and working on my size/shape technique would have better results, but I probably won't be making gnocchi again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanna_maki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Used butternut squash and half a head of roasted garlic, tossed it with a sage brown butter sauce. Good, but not great; definitely not worth the time it took. Perhaps I added too much flour? The dough was still sticking to my hands and seemed almost too soft to "roll" (managed to squeeze it into tubes), but they were a little gummier than I'd like my gnocchi and the flavor of the squash was so subtle as to be practically unnoticeable. Perhaps I'll try again with sweet potato. The roasted garlic flavor was great, so I'll keep that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
These were delicious. I have been making traditional potato gnocchi for years (from an old family recipe) and decided to try sweet potato - WOW! I topped them with a little bit of butter infused with fresh sage. Can't wait to make them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
A suggestion for those cooks having trouble rolling and cutting the dough: Try putting the dough in a floured pastery bag (or a Ziplock with a corner cut out will do) and squeezing it out like toothpaste. Then slice off bits with a sharp knife to make appropriate-sized dumplings. You can squeeze them right into the pot of boiling water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
430 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
IMPORTANT TIP: baking the potatoes took about 50 minutes - not 30. Also, it took forever to cut up the pasta (probably because I didn't do big dough balls). I would plan about 2-3 hours for this recipe. PREP TIPS: I added brown sugar and cinnamon to enhance the flavor of the sweet potatoes. Also, regarding the flour thing, I think the key is to follow the recipe when adding flour to the dough. Then, when you are actually rolling out the pasta, make sure the surface on which you are working and your hands are well floured. This will keep it from being too sticky and ending up looking like dumplings. Also, the person who said the smaller the better was VERY right. If you make the pieces of pasta large, you will end up with extremely filling dough balls. If you want it to be like pasta, and not dumplings, you need to keep it small. I went with flat, squares & rectangles about 1" x 1" to 1" x 2" (still very filling). Also, I used the tofu cream sauce recipe on this site, using vanilla soy milk instead of plain (to add sweetness and match the pasta) and it was awesome!! Even my husband, who is not a vegetarian, loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kasson, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States