Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This recipe was SO OH good! I did make a few changes as per my own taste. First, I used whole wheat flour. Second, I ommitted the nutmeg, as I didn't have any. Lastly, I steamed some baby spinach, cut it up and added that to the dough. I put the dough through a ziplock bag with a corner cut off and squeezed it into the pot, cutting every inch or so. Also, I microwaved the sweet potato per another reviewer's suggestion. It cut the cook time down to about 8 mins per sweet potato. This recipe is great and easy to customize. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is a great recipe and I make enough so I can freeze some to use down the road, but I use less flour than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
THis is delicious fresh, but as leftovers gets a little too tough. I paired it with this parmesan sauce recipe from recipezaar: http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/print?id=59992
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soups On

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I made a half recipe to use up leftover sweet potatoes, and thought they turned out great! I made them quite small (about the size of the end of my thumb). Anyone complaining about the lack of flavour... um... have you ever had potato gnocchi? These are how they're supposed to be. Hint: cook the sweet potato in the microwave. Just wash the outside, stab it a few times with a knife, and nuke until soft (expect 15-30 min). Then cut in half and scoop out flesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I got rave reviews when I made this for dinner! I served it with vodka sauce and pieces of chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbl_h

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Pretty tasty, but kind of heavy. We enjoyed these, but you can't eat too many because they're kind of rich. I think the nutmeg sounds like a strange ingredient, but it somehow worked. I had some trouble getting the right consistency to the dough, but I did enjoy watching the cooked gnocci pop up to the top of the water while cooking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Too much work for too little return. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I love sweet potatoes, I've made gnocchi lots of times, however, this recipe falls short...very gooey dough? added more and more flour, added more nutmeg and salt. flavorless...ended up making a butter, brown sugar, maple syrup glaze sauce and that tasted good but mainly the sweetness covered up the bland gnocchi. a waste of sweet potatoes. sorry will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Very labor intensive and kind of bland. Potatoes took forever to bake. Ended up mashing in a food processor. Rolled into very small snakes a little bit at a time, as recommended by another poster, and that made it okay. But ultimately too much effort for "eh" reactions from the hubby and kid. Actually, kid refused to eat it. Hubby ate it, but didn't say anything. Used the remainder of the dough mixed with brown sugar and cinnamon to make fritters that we're eating with honey butter. It tastes much better fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States