Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I was *really* nervous about this recipe b/c reviews were mixed and I know how tricky gnocchi can be in general. I'd made it twice before with just okay results. This turned out FANTASTIC! The sweet potato flavor is super subtle. I did not change the ingredients at all, despite others descriptions and I was glad for that. The biggest thing to do right is the amount of flour. I worked about 1 3/4c. into the dough and then used the remaining 1/4 to flour my work surface and sprinkle on any "wet" spots as I rolled this out. The trick is to use as little flour as possible while still being workable. Those who added 3 c. of flour instead of two to keep from having sticky dough had lumps of glue for a reason! My husband said he thinks this was the best gnocchi he's ever eaten, restaurant or otherwise. He loved it and was sad that I only boiled half the batch for the two of us. I served it with a made up alfredo sauce with a hint of vodka. Yummo. Wish there were leftovers except that gnocchi doesn't keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Yay for the dinner-saving gnocchi! I made this after discovering I had gotten sweet potatoes instead of russet... so chili baked potatoes weren't going to work anymore and I needed a new recipe fast. I had everything I needed to make this recipe, and it was really easy. We had it with alfredo sauce, but next time I may go with a less garlicky sauce, or possibly butter and parm. I thought it was easy enough to roll out like a play-doh snake and cut into pieces. Just keep flouring everything like when you make sugar cookies (your hands, the dough, the cutting board) and it'll work fine. My family loved it! I cooked about 1/3 of the batch right away, and froze the rest as dough (already cut into pieces) for later. Yay for amazingly delicious gnocchi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Takes a while to "drip" the gnocchi out of the plastic bag but eventually I got my groove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
the idea is good but an easier way to make potato gnocchi (sweet potato or regular) is just to peel and grate the potatos while they are raw then just mix with flour until a dough forms. You can still put one egg in the mix if that helps you to work with the dough, but I don't really think it is necessary. I also put the gnocchi in the freezer for an hour or so before boiling just to keep it together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I've made gnocci several times in the past and actually found this recipe more user-friendly than others. I followed it but subbed a little whole wheat flour (maybe 1/4 cup). Here are my gnocci tips:refrigerate the dough to make it easier to handle; don't let the water be rapidly boiling when you drop your gnocci in (I bring it do a rolling boil and then let it slow down before I put the gnocci in, I think it agitates them too much if it's boiling to hard). Finally, sometimes the gnocci texture is a bit to "raw" seeming for me so I brush them with olive oil and stick them under the broiler on a cookie sheet for a few minutes on each side. The texture is sumptuous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
okay. Not very flavorful. Definitely needed a sauce to bring out the sweetness of the sweet potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebago, Maine, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Pretty tricky. I used a ton of flour, (probably more than necessary) but the texture was okay. I added cinnamon and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This recipe was SO OH good! I did make a few changes as per my own taste. First, I used whole wheat flour. Second, I ommitted the nutmeg, as I didn't have any. Lastly, I steamed some baby spinach, cut it up and added that to the dough. I put the dough through a ziplock bag with a corner cut off and squeezed it into the pot, cutting every inch or so. Also, I microwaved the sweet potato per another reviewer's suggestion. It cut the cook time down to about 8 mins per sweet potato. This recipe is great and easy to customize. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is a great recipe and I make enough so I can freeze some to use down the road, but I use less flour than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
THis is delicious fresh, but as leftovers gets a little too tough. I paired it with this parmesan sauce recipe from recipezaar: http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/print?id=59992
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soups On

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States