Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I thought I would be clever and use my pasta machine to help make this. I pulled out my 15 year old machine (I'm guessing it's about 15 years old because my oldest child is 13 and who has time to make pasta when you have kids?)and was thrilled to find that it still works! Sadly, it didn't save me any time. It took me over an hour to make this delicious gnocchi. I don't have a scale so I measured out 2 cups of cooked sweet potato. I put all of the ingredients in the pasta machine and quickly discovered there wasn't nearly enough flour. I only had 1 cup of white flour, so the rest was whole wheat flour. I probably added about 3/4 cup more than the recipe required, and it could have used a bit more. It was difficult to get the dough to extrude because it was so sticky, but I persevered. Here's the good news: My family LOVED it! My 13 year old announced that she wouldn't be eating it, but agreed to taste it. That turned into a full portion. My 4-1/2 year old does not like sweet potatoes; he doesn't like much. He didn't even want to try it, though he helped me to make it. I finally prevailed and he tried one, and he proceeded to eat all that I had put on his plate. He said, "Hey, this is good!" In summary, this is a delicious recipe and if I could order it pre-made, I would eat it all the time. Since it took SO long to make it myself, and I really don't enjoy being in the kitchen, my rate of consumption will be much lower. If I'm lucky, someone else will make it the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I cut this in half and had so many I think it could serve 3-4! Delicious. Popped them directly into saute pan from boiling water, got some texture with butter (sub - Brummel), pine nuts and sage. So fast, would make a great on the spot appetizer for guests, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I was *really* nervous about this recipe b/c reviews were mixed and I know how tricky gnocchi can be in general. I'd made it twice before with just okay results. This turned out FANTASTIC! The sweet potato flavor is super subtle. I did not change the ingredients at all, despite others descriptions and I was glad for that. The biggest thing to do right is the amount of flour. I worked about 1 3/4c. into the dough and then used the remaining 1/4 to flour my work surface and sprinkle on any "wet" spots as I rolled this out. The trick is to use as little flour as possible while still being workable. Those who added 3 c. of flour instead of two to keep from having sticky dough had lumps of glue for a reason! My husband said he thinks this was the best gnocchi he's ever eaten, restaurant or otherwise. He loved it and was sad that I only boiled half the batch for the two of us. I served it with a made up alfredo sauce with a hint of vodka. Yummo. Wish there were leftovers except that gnocchi doesn't keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Yay for the dinner-saving gnocchi! I made this after discovering I had gotten sweet potatoes instead of russet... so chili baked potatoes weren't going to work anymore and I needed a new recipe fast. I had everything I needed to make this recipe, and it was really easy. We had it with alfredo sauce, but next time I may go with a less garlicky sauce, or possibly butter and parm. I thought it was easy enough to roll out like a play-doh snake and cut into pieces. Just keep flouring everything like when you make sugar cookies (your hands, the dough, the cutting board) and it'll work fine. My family loved it! I cooked about 1/3 of the batch right away, and froze the rest as dough (already cut into pieces) for later. Yay for amazingly delicious gnocchi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Takes a while to "drip" the gnocchi out of the plastic bag but eventually I got my groove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
the idea is good but an easier way to make potato gnocchi (sweet potato or regular) is just to peel and grate the potatos while they are raw then just mix with flour until a dough forms. You can still put one egg in the mix if that helps you to work with the dough, but I don't really think it is necessary. I also put the gnocchi in the freezer for an hour or so before boiling just to keep it together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I've made gnocci several times in the past and actually found this recipe more user-friendly than others. I followed it but subbed a little whole wheat flour (maybe 1/4 cup). Here are my gnocci tips:refrigerate the dough to make it easier to handle; don't let the water be rapidly boiling when you drop your gnocci in (I bring it do a rolling boil and then let it slow down before I put the gnocci in, I think it agitates them too much if it's boiling to hard). Finally, sometimes the gnocci texture is a bit to "raw" seeming for me so I brush them with olive oil and stick them under the broiler on a cookie sheet for a few minutes on each side. The texture is sumptuous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
okay. Not very flavorful. Definitely needed a sauce to bring out the sweetness of the sweet potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebago, Maine, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Pretty tricky. I used a ton of flour, (probably more than necessary) but the texture was okay. I added cinnamon and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This recipe was SO OH good! I did make a few changes as per my own taste. First, I used whole wheat flour. Second, I ommitted the nutmeg, as I didn't have any. Lastly, I steamed some baby spinach, cut it up and added that to the dough. I put the dough through a ziplock bag with a corner cut off and squeezed it into the pot, cutting every inch or so. Also, I microwaved the sweet potato per another reviewer's suggestion. It cut the cook time down to about 8 mins per sweet potato. This recipe is great and easy to customize. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States