Sweet Potato Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I made this VEGAN! I used Energ Egg Replacer instead of an egg, and tonight [when I make this awesome recipe again] I'm going to try a flax-egg. I baked the potatoes for 30 minutes, then let them sit in the oven (turned off) for about 10 more. I rolled the pasta into very thin, short "snakes" to control the size better and ran it over it with a hot fork that i'd left on the oven. I was really surprised by how fluffy these were even on my first try! So very filling too! I made a creamy pasta sauce with mixed vegetables to top this delightful dish, and what a wonderful meal it turned out to be! Thanks for the recipe. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now, and overall it is really good. That being said, its only alright when its cooked immediately, but awesome if you chill or freeze the gnocchi before boiling them. And the prep time is always longer than half an hour. I used an all purpose gluten free flour (celiac disease), mama's blend the first time and pillsbury the second. I add 1.5 cups to the sweet potato mix and see how sticky it is. The first time I made it with extra big sweet potatoes apparently, because it took about 2.5 cups to get it workable. The second time it took 1.5 cups mixed in to get it sticky but workable. I tried rolling the dough, but it was much faster and easier when I squeezed it out of a bag with the corner cut off onto a floured surface. You can make them pretty by pressing a fork into them, but I don't normally bother. I like to boil them til they float, then sautee them in sage butter right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Really tasty! I subbed sweet potato for butternut squash and pureed it with some water instead of mashing it. Then I served it with feta alfredo sauce. At first I was a little befuddled but I quickly got the hang of making the gnocchi. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was my first attempt at making gnocchi. Thanks so much for a delicious and easy to follow recipe! I used some of the reviewers tips by microwaving potatoes and only using 1 1/2 cups of flour. Sautéed with shallots and brown butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
These were wonderful! They were so easy and once the sweet potatoes were cooked, were a snap to assemble and cook. Omitted nutmeg and garlic, still were tasty. May add in next time. Served with Pork Tenderloin with Mushroom Ragout and they were scarfed by my two sweet potato hating family members (along with a request to make again). Liked the idea of serving with a little sage brown butter next time!! Second time: Added 3 cloves of garlic shredded on a microplane. Added 4 T browned butter with 1 T dried sage, juice of 1/2 lemon and topped with shredded parm cheese. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is a family favorite, and is divine when cooked, fished out into a bowl to drain, then sauteed in crispy sage brown butter. I make a double or triple batch, starting with about 2/3 of the flour recommended, add nutmeg, ginger, and cinnamon, and fridge the dough for a day or so (it'll be play dough texture on top and wetter inside). Cover tightly in plastic wrap; otherwise, the air exposure turns the dough from bright orange to brown. It makes for pretty marbled gnocchi with the two colors, though. I flour the top of a big blob, then flour the bottom, and roll into snakes on a floured baking mat. Roll to about a finger thickness and use a paring knife to cut small pillows about 1/2 x 1". You really do want small; I've made them way bigger and they just turn into enormous dumplings. Freeze half on parchment paper (not touching much), then dump into a freezer bag when frozen solid. Boil from frozen (it will take a few mins longer, but thawing will result in mushing together).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
These were super tasty, but also super messy and time-consuming. It definitely took longer than 35 minutes for me, and it got really frustrating trying to get the dough into small enough balls to cook. HOWEVER if you're willing to get a little messy and spend some time to get it right, they are super tasty! To those who have never had gnocchi, it's supposed to be similar to a dumpling. If it comes out too rubbery for your liking (I personally like them a little more cooked than most chefs make it), try boiling them for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joderita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Pretty simple and yummy. I microwaved my potatoes for about 10 minutes ahead of time and mashed them with the garlic, salt and pepper (I didn't have nutmeg). About a half hour before dinner I gradually added the flour - I used about 1.5 cups and generously added flour to the rolling board. I used my floured hands to roll them into 'snakes' and cut into small pieces. I would cut about 20 pieces at a time - throw them into boiling water - cut up some more and then transfer the cooked gnocchi to a pot with my warmed Alfredo sauce. It didn't seem to take too long. I find gnocchi to be fairly bland already and I thought the sweet potato version was tastier! Would be tempted to add some bacon to the sauce next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
My suggestion is to keep the dough a bit on the thin side by using less flour and more egg. Then, put it into a pastry tube with a large star tip and squeeze it out while cutting gnocchis off with scissors. Let the gnocchi fall directly into the boiling water. This cuts the time needed in half and is much less fussy. You may find it takes two people to do this, but it is well worth it. Delicious flavor; add more salt as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good basic recipe but, as with everything, tweak to taste. You will need to adjust flour to amount of sweet potato you use. You want the mixture to be sticky. If it sticks to your fingers but you can roll it off, it is done. I added brown sugar, cinnamon and a dash of maple syrup to mine. Was great but I may add some ricotta for a bit more creaminess next time. I took another reviewer's advice and put it in a Ziploc bag with a corner snipped off. I pushed it through the bag and used kitchen sheers to snip into a boiling pot of salted water. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States