Sweet Potato Eggnog Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I thought this recipe was great! Had to double it for 15 people. Did use fresh sweet potatoes, approx 4 lbs for that may people, peeled and boiled for ~ 15 minutes till tender, smashed with a fork and followed rest of recipe. Did substitute brown sugar for white. Turned out delicious! Next time will dot with some butter and a tad brown sugar and pecans over top for more of a crust while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Everyone loved the flavor of this dish, the only change I made was I used fresh sweet potatoes instead of canned. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
this was a great recipe and super simple the only thing different I did was topp it with marshmallows the last 5 minutes lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Good way to use up leftover eggnog. I, too, used fresh potatoes and cut back a little on the sugar to 2/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
was very good with pork roast. a great twist to a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used jarred Valencia Orange Peel and I think that was a mistake. Since it was not freshly grated orange zest, I probably should have used less. The amount I used caused a bitter taste that overpowered the eggnog. Since sweet potato and eggnog are two of my favorite foots, that was a disappointment. In all fairness, it was my fault for making the substitution; so, I'm not taking any points away from the recipe. I will try again with fresh orange zest. I just wanted to share my experience so others wouldn't make the same mistake. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Just delicious, and so easy using the canned sweet potatoes. Certainly one I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
We're not big on "sweet" sweet potato casseroles, so the only change I made was to reduce the sugar. This is so easy to make, and the orange zest gives you a nice pop of freshness, really enhancing the flavor of the sweet potatoes. Unfortunately, I thought the eggnog flavor was lost. I cut this recipe in half using one can of sweet potatoes, and two of us finished it off (and we didn't pig out, either). In this house, I think the full recipe would serve 6, not 8, so the number of servings might be one thing that you consider. Good weeknight side dish served with a pork roast. Certainly would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I varied from great-grandma's recipe a couple years ago and used this one. Everyone loved it! I did use fresh sweet potatoes and skipped the sugar since eggnog is so sweet already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States