Sweet Potato Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
We really enjoyed this with dinner last night. I will cut back on the sugar the next time just because you can without hurting the taste. This crisp is sweet but not too sweet. It is as good cold as it is warm. I used this as a side dish but can see making this as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Everyone in the family loved this one! I only used 2/3 cup of white sugar as suggested by others and thought it was a good amount. I did add cinnamon to the sweet potatoes (just sprinkled some in).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Delightful. Added some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My sister-in-law served this at a family dinner a few years ago, and now we always request it. It's the best! I personally don't like pecans, so I substituted 2 packages of vanilla flavored instant oatmeal. The topping was a little gooey at first, but after it had cooled some, it was perfect, and very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
It's very delicious and very sweet. Play with the amount of sugar you use to find what's right for your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Way too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This recipie is delicious. I dont like sweet potatos but LOVED this. However, next time I make it I am only going to use a half cup of sugar. A whole cup makes it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shelby, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Best ever sweet potato recipe. It's the only recipe I use now. The first time I made this was Thanksgiving, 2008. Everyone wanted this recipe and my family gobbled them up very fast. No one touched my sister in-laws recipe. I had to make them again one week later because my husband hardly got to eat any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving, with a few adjustments. I made it the week before following the directions exactly and it was waaaaaaay too sweet. Then for Thanksgiving, I more than doubled the amount of sweet potatoes (8 cups, made from 4 giant potatoes mashed) and then it was perfect. I also added a bit of nutmeg and cinnamon which deepen the flavor. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is an excellent dish, though I did make some adjustments. Those who said this was almost a dessert were not joking. This *is* a dessert! Texture is that of a chiffon/whipped sweet potato pie, that close southern cousin to pumpkin pie. I decreased the sugar to 2/3rds but could have cut it back even more and been happy. The topping really provides enough sweetness. For those with nut allergies, I substituted 2/3 cup dry oatmeal for the pecans, and just toasted it in a non-stick frying pan with the butter until very lightly browned. Add the brown sugar and keep stirring over medium heat until sugar melts and *just* starts to clump. add the flour. The crunchy sugar and oats provides the same/similar texture of the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States