Sweet Potato Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This is by far the strangest cookie I have ever made. It has almost a cake-like texture; VERY soft and fluffy, and the flavor of the nutmeg comes out beautifully (I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract) with a perfect hint of sweet potato goodness. Fresh out of the oven, it didn't seem to have too much flavor although the texture was lovely. I waited for it to set for a while and about four hours later, it was perfect. I've eaten five already, and made a batch of thirty. By their quality, I'd say they'll be gone the second my apartmentmates wake up tomorrow ;^_^ Unexpectedly excellent recipe: Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYPOEMPRESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
These cookies are absolutely delicious - very light and extremely moist. I am a health nut so I tweaked the recipe a little bit - I used 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup canola oil in place of the butter. I also added 1 teasp. of vanilla extract. And I ended up baking the cookies for about 10 minutes. I would definitely make this recipe again - the lemon zest added a nice kick. I baked them last night, left them overnight to cool, and tried them this morning - absolutely delicious and healthier than many other cookie recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
What an unexpected treat. I tried this recipe for fun but it is really good. I used a bit more sugar than the recipe and added vanilla (1 tsp. They have a wonderful texture. I made the first batch plain and added a simple glaze on top. The second batch I pushed a mini marchmallow in the middle and topped with a bit of brown sugar like a mini sweet potato casserole. They looked really cute and were a great thanksgiving warm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
These are tasty but they definitely taste like healthy cookies. To boost this flavor, use whole wheat flour. The consistency is somewhere between a cake-like cookie and a scone. They do not expand much while baking are are a breeze to get off the pan. I baked them for 9 minutes. One lemon will give roughly enough zest for a double recipe. I also added some cinnamon to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
These cookies were wonderful. Moist and refreshingly different and healthy. I agree with the other reviews that they are more of a biscuit consistency. I dipped the tops in colored sugar so that they would appeal to my toddler who initially said no to the sweet potato. She loves them. I also subbed 1/2 cup wheat germ and 1/2 whole wheat flour. They were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
These cookies came out more like baking powder biscuits! Not at all like a typical cookie. They had pretty good flavor the next day. I followed the recipe exactly and then added about 1/2 cup of shredded zucchini. I made one sheet and decided to use the rest of the dough for biscuits. They are very pretty with specks of orange and green and they are not too sweet so they'll go well with a ham dinner. Not what I expected, but interesting just the same. Also, my 2 year old likes them even though there are veggies in them!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I had peeled one too many sweet potatoes while making dinner tonight, so I looked up a recipe that I'd be able to use up my extra sweet potato. This recipe fit the bill perfectly! These cookies are sooo good! But what really took them over the top was when I realized that I had some leftover lemon cream cheese icing from my son's birthday cake the other day. I put a small smear of icing on each cookie.... AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Glad I read the reviews first! I mixed in about a tablespoon of water after the final mix, and ours turned out delicious & moist. I'm so glad to have found a cookie with so little sweetener. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Thanks to the reviews for giving good feedback on these cookies. That helped me know what I would get and how I might want to tweak the recipe as I went along. The reviewers said it was like a biscuit so I cut back to 1 tsp of baking powder and increased to 2 eggs. That made the cookies more like little, puffy cakes. I like the glaze idea also but they are also good without glaze. Next time I will roll the ball of batter before spooning it onto the baking pan to get a rounder finished shape in the cookie. I would also try them with already-baked and sweetened chunks of sweet potato in the batter in place of, or in addition to, the shreds of raw sweet potato. Overall I great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Amazing cookie! Definitely gonna make again!!! Delicious and comforting flavors!!!!! Mostly followed instructions except as follows: used butter flavored shortening instead of butter, (had none), added ginger, cinnamon, coriander, and vanilla along with the nutmeg that was called for; didn't have honey so doubled the amount of white sugar, and didn't have lemon so used lime zest. After making them into balls I rolled them in sugar and lightly flattened with a fork. Couldn't taste the lime in the finished product (thankfully, that may have been weird) but used it in the recipe anyway because I knew some sort of citrus zest would "brighten" up the other flavors. Oh, and mixed in 1 1/2 cup of raisins and chopped prunes that I needed to use. I know the prunes may sound gross, but I chopped them so tiny and had more raisins than prunes so they blended in nicely, wont tell my kids and they never guessed! Next time will try to make over the recipe using healthier alternatives like splenda, applesauce, egg whites, and want to add pecans or walnuts. Very happy to have found this recipe, thanks for posting it! Oh, and it may not be important but I didn't even use the same sweet potato they used... I had frozen leftover sweet potato casserole from thanksgiving! I thawed it in the microwave and substituted it for the raw, grated sweet potato. I bet canned pumpkin would work well, too. What a hoot! Fabulous and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States