Sweet Potato Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This is by far the strangest cookie I have ever made. It has almost a cake-like texture; VERY soft and fluffy, and the flavor of the nutmeg comes out beautifully (I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract) with a perfect hint of sweet potato goodness. Fresh out of the oven, it didn't seem to have too much flavor although the texture was lovely. I waited for it to set for a while and about four hours later, it was perfect. I've eaten five already, and made a batch of thirty. By their quality, I'd say they'll be gone the second my apartmentmates wake up tomorrow ;^_^ Unexpectedly excellent recipe: Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYPOEMPRESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
These cookies came out more like baking powder biscuits! Not at all like a typical cookie. They had pretty good flavor the next day. I followed the recipe exactly and then added about 1/2 cup of shredded zucchini. I made one sheet and decided to use the rest of the dough for biscuits. They are very pretty with specks of orange and green and they are not too sweet so they'll go well with a ham dinner. Not what I expected, but interesting just the same. Also, my 2 year old likes them even though there are veggies in them!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Pretty good, but a little blah. they need maybe more sweet potato and more lemon. maybe more nutmeg and mighn't vanilla be a tasty addition?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I made these cookies using Japanese sweet potato (satsumaimo) and they turned out very well. Was a bit worried when I started to mix everything together (seemed like way too much flour), but they ended up fine. Nice delicate flavour (after reading other reviews I added 1/2 tsp vanilla). Turned out like little scone-cookies. My husband took them to work where they were apparently gobbled up by his Japanese co-workers. Would definately make again, perhaps experiment more with different flavour additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
What an unexpected treat. I tried this recipe for fun but it is really good. I used a bit more sugar than the recipe and added vanilla (1 tsp. They have a wonderful texture. I made the first batch plain and added a simple glaze on top. The second batch I pushed a mini marchmallow in the middle and topped with a bit of brown sugar like a mini sweet potato casserole. They looked really cute and were a great thanksgiving warm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUCSONALI
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
these are really nteresting cookies. if not your cup of tea, they are certainly concersation starters. they're like little tasty scones. in my second batch, I added one tablespoon of apple cider then rolled them in "sugar in the raw and vanilla sugar". they were a bit more moist and sweet this way. serve with apple cinnamon tea! p.s. an extra star for being interesting but this recipe took me a long time to complete (perhaps because I grated the potato and lemon peel by hand). the cooking time was also 3x longer than noted in the recipe... I'm at a high altitude but it should not have increased the time so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUCSONALI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I just recently discovered my love for sweet potato, and so I've been trying to incorporate it into everything, so I was really excited when I found this recipe! I made a ton of really random changes though, but they still turned out really good. I added about a teaspoon or two of orange juice into the honey mixture along with vanilla extract as everyone else has said, but I think it might need some more. I didn't have lemon zest so I left it out, but next time I think i will try adding orange zest. Also i replaced hald of the butter with unsweetened applesauce to make it healthier, and I also added 2 T of splenda brown sugar (which is equivalent to 1/4 cup) and i think it might need more, however I am going to try to mak ea brownsugar glaze, so maybe they will make it sweet enough. they turned out like sconish biscuits as everyone else has said, and i couldn't really taste the sweet potato ,but they are still really good! will make these again, and i might try adding the marshmallow and brownsugar on top, because that sounded really cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
These cookies are absolutely delicious - very light and extremely moist. I am a health nut so I tweaked the recipe a little bit - I used 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup canola oil in place of the butter. I also added 1 teasp. of vanilla extract. And I ended up baking the cookies for about 10 minutes. I would definitely make this recipe again - the lemon zest added a nice kick. I baked them last night, left them overnight to cool, and tried them this morning - absolutely delicious and healthier than many other cookie recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
These cookies were wonderful. Moist and refreshingly different and healthy. I agree with the other reviews that they are more of a biscuit consistency. I dipped the tops in colored sugar so that they would appeal to my toddler who initially said no to the sweet potato. She loves them. I also subbed 1/2 cup wheat germ and 1/2 whole wheat flour. They were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SABLENK2
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I didn't have a lemon, so I substituted finely chopped candied ginger, and reduced the fat by using half margarine and half applesauce for the butter. To make them more appealing to my son, I also topped them with a mini marshmallow and a sliver of candied ginger before baking. These did, as previous cooks commented, come out like mini scones. They were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States