Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I made this stove top because I had ground turkey and sweet potatoes I needed to use. I cooked the turkey (whole pound didn't use any beef), onion, celery and spices for about 10 minutes or until meat fully cooked. Then added tomatoes, sauce, and water. After a few more minutes added the beans and corn to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
One of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan Ford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This recipe didn't do much for me. It wasn't terrible…but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is a family favorite. I have tried it as listed, but my family prefers it with the following changes: 1) leave out the corn (corn does not belong in chili) 2) we use all ground turkey (you can taste the seasonings more) 3) I add a couple tablespoons of canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. It adds a kick. 4) I use Vietnamese cinnamon which has a much deeper flavor. The cinnamon with the chipotle really works well together. This recipe also freezes pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Dozier Coe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I added an extra can of beans. This was great and made a lot of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This was a big win! However, just a little bland. So, we made just a couple of mods... 1- I added diced bell peppers(orange and yellow), 2- we added half a stick of butter and 3 table spoons of Light Brown sugar(to give it a sweet and savory touch), 3- we didn't have 6 hours so we boiled the sweet potatoes for fifteen minutes, browned the meat, and cooked EVERYTHING in a roasting pan (well covered) for just 3 hours. Stirred every 20 minutes to half hour to ensure everything was properly breaking down into a sauce. It turned out fantastic. I should also note we decided to skip the beef and only used Turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gmoney
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Loved it! We were a bit skeptical about putting sweet potatoes in chili, but it was just the right amount of sweetness. Not overpowering at all! After reading other reviews, I didn't add water and cut back a little on the cinnamon. We also left out the cayenne (but added it in the adult bowls individually). I added some green bell pepper but totally forgot about the corn! Next time, I'll definitely add it. We had ours with sour cream, but could have passed without. Next time, I might add another kind of bean as well as topping with cheese. I also won't forget the corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gmoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I make this often, it is wonderful and very interesting. A very welcome change. P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Very good, added 1 1/2 of chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made with 1 lb ground beef and cooked on the stove top by browning the beef with the sweet potatos, onion, celery and one clove of crushed garlic, drained the grease, added the spices and let them heat up, then added turkey stock in place of water along with the tomatos and beans. Added the corn after it had simmered for about an hour, then simmered for another hour, taking the lid off for the last 30 mins. EXCELLENT chili and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States