Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
My whole family loved it! I did use all ground beef. I put the ground beef in raw with step one, but only cooked on high about an hour, then switched to low. Left out the cinnamon (just now realized that). Had to sub a garden fresh bell pepper for the celery. I also didn't add the water, my slow cooker seems to make a lot of water on its own. I only had diced tomatoes so I subbed the Black Beans for a can of chili beans (gave me the chili seasonings that the chili tomatoes would have). We love flavor, so my pinches were probably more like spoonfuls (except no salt, we have to eat low sodium). I also forgot the corn. Delish!! I can't wait for the leftovers. Today I'm going to eat it more like a dip on garden veggie crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Nice tasting chili. Easy to prepare. No substitutions or omissions. It is somewhat thin or has juice so if you like a thicker chili than I would suggest omitting water or have enough bread as a side. This def. needs the time to soften up the potatoes so plan ahead. If I have extra sw. potatoes around I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made this for the Recipe Group Selection: 06, October 2012. Both my husband and I love sweet potatoes and have put them in our chili and soups before. I didn't have canned tomatoes with green chilies and so I chopped up a poblano and chili pepper from my garden and added in with regular diced tomatoes. I only used one pound of ground meat, no pork. I dashed the cinnamon and to me it is the spice that makes this chili different from your many run of the mill chili dishes, gives that earthy fall flavoring. I have an old crock pot that doesn't cook too hot and five hours on high was perfect. I did pre-brown my ground meat with some onions until it just turned pink, drained and added it in the beginning with all the other ingredients. I also did the open and stir once in awhile as the directions indicated, something I usually never do with crock pots, but it was needed to move around the sweet potato chunks since they seemed to like to float to the top. Everything that said a pinch, got a dash or two. Nice thickness to this and not too spicy. We topped with green scallions, cheddar cheese and sour cream. Smells so wonderful while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group [I tweaked this all over the place, and probably shouldn't have, since it was for recipe group, but I did . . .] . . . I just was not in a meat mood - and definitely not feeling ground meat, for some reason. SO, I bought a package of turkey breast tenderloins. I diced them up, and browned half [~10 oz...?] in olive oil in my 5 qt pot. I used extra celery and onion. [Did not measure.] I could not find the diced tomatoes, so I bought sliced - but had to dice them myself, ultimately - the slices were too big for my taste. Because I was going short on the meat, I added a second can of black beans, and a can of pintos. I brought the turkey, sweets, and tomatoes to a boil while I diced the other veggies, added the spices, beans and corn, brought back to a boil, covered, and lowered to a simmer, for about an hour. The chili is GOOD! BUT, I will probably leave out the cinnamon next time. I know it's not a sweet spice - but I associate it with sweets - and while the taste is not bothering me, the scent is off-putting . . . By the way, I left out the water. As I read the reviews, I kept thinking that my chili did not come out thin or runny, but just realized now, that I did not even see water in the ingredient list [and so, left it out]. I will do it the same way next time. My biggest tweak was probably making this a one-pot meal and doing the whole thing on the stovetop . . . I shared this with co-workers and my mom, and everyone who tried it, loved it =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was absolutely amazing! The first time I did it, I didn't have any black beans, so I sort of tossed the "chili" part of it and instead added some raisins. It was really sweet (but not overly so) and decadent as a main dish, a big hit. The next time I did it with the black beans and it was also great, although we missed some of the sweetness from the time before. This will be a regular dish in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My family and I loved this recipe. Nice change of pace from regular chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
A wonderful lower fat and more nutritious chili recipe! Hubby and I loved this, would be great for a Halloween party, the colors and flavors are so seasonal. I took a little liberty with the cooking method...I used all ground turkey, browned with onion and added some garlic and cumin, s & p, and added to the crock. All of the other ingredients went in, and I used liberal amounts of most of the seasonings (except the cayene!). Cooked this in the crock on high 4 hours, turned down to low for an hour and a half or so. Perfect. Thanks for sharing your recipe, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 06, October 2012 ~ Great twist on chili. I love sweet potatoes, hubby does not. I made the soup while he was gone so he would not see me add the sweet potatoes. He had the soup for dinner before I got home. He liked the flavor of the soup, but wanted to know what the orange things were. I told him it was carrot chunks. He wasn't so sure about that, but that is how I left it. I put all the ingredients in the crockpot in the morning, and cooked on low all day. Since the soup would be cooking all day, I did omit the 1/2 cup water. The texture and taste of this chili was delicious and I will make it again, "carrots" and all! Thanks salt&light for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Great recipe my family loved it. we had it with shredded cheese on top and whole grain scoops . very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
We really enjoyed this. I took the advice of the other reviewer and added everything at once and cooked on low. Really hardy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States