Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I read a review where someone put everything in at the same time and just let it cook and it was okay but not great. The second time the changes I made were only to ingredients: used chicken stock instead of the water, no celery (preference), 2 cloves garlic minced and toward the end I added a couple tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken it a bit. I found it to be much more balanced and delicious this time following the directions of browning the meat (all turkey) and adding it with the beans and corn about an hour before serving it. Very filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Love it with potatoes instead of sweet potatoes and I also used soy meat instead of real!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
We really loved this recipe. This can be changed easily to a vegetarian dish by omitting the meat and adding an extra can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent!!!!! The best chili I have ever made or ate!! Used all turkey and only 1 of the cans of tomatos had chili seasonings so overall it was tasty w/o being too spicy for the kids. They are normally picky but ate this. I served green Tabasco on the side for the adults who needed more of a kick. Very Yummy! Just be sure to start it well ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I LOVE this chili. I think it is the most delicious chili I have ever had. I love the cinnamon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was really different... and delicious! Changed it slightly due to ingredients on hand. Deleted all meat. Used home canned tomatoes instead of stewed, 1 can Rotel, and hot Mexican chili spice instead of regular chili powder. Added kidney beans. Have already passed along the recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This recipe was yummy. I didn't have time to get it all together in the morning because I was late for work, so I had to make it in a much shorter time frame than allotted in the recipe. I browned my meat (I used 1.3 lbs lean ground beef) with 1/2 of a yellow onion that was diced. I also put my sweet potatoes in the microwave for about 8 minutes and then diced them before throwing everything together in the slow cooker. I cooked it on high for about 2.5 to 3 hours. It probably wold have been even better if I had been able to follow the recipe exactly, but it was still very good and quite easy. I would definitely recommend it. the bf isn't a fan of cumin and thought the taste might have been a little strong, but he still liked it. I didn't mind it. We both though it seemed like it might be missing a little something (hence the 4 stars), but again, it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe--a wonderful and most nutritious "comfort food." My two little boys enjoyed it, also, with a sprinkling of grated cheddar (to offset the heat a bit). Thanks for a great recipe, salt&light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Delicious, especially served with sour cream, cheese, and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westover, Maryland, USA
Living In: Green Lane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
The flavor on this was amazing! Made a few minor changes with one batch, but this is fantastic as written. Completely left out the cayenne pepper as there are some sensetive tongues in my household and went with diced tomatoes rather than stewed as it's what we had on hand. Ended up cooking for about 9 hours total. Sweet potatoes were very tender and the whole meal was very hearty and great for a cold fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States