Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Used all ground beef and omitted cayenne for the kids. Served with chopped avocado, green onions, and sour cream. The entire family ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I've made this recipe a couple times so far and have really liked it. I made it last night for an annual chili cook-off at work and it did really well. Obviously, when you're talking about sweet potatoes, it's hit and miss; some people really like them, others can't stand them. I love them and this recipe doesn't disappoint! I did modify a step, however: Instead of putting the raw potatoes straight into the crock, I pop them into a large sauce pan with a little olive oil, cinnamon and brown sugar to taste along with the sweet onions, caramelizing both and more importantly, partially cooking the potatoes which cuts the crock cook time in half. I also doubled the potatoes and excluded the beef and turkey, making it a vegetarian dish. All-in-all, an excellent recipe. This is one I'll be using for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT Small

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We LOVE this recipie! We added 1 zucchini and some spinach that we had in the fridge. Otherwise prepared just as written. Absolutely wonderful! Might try adding a can of kidney beans next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I read a review where someone put everything in at the same time and just let it cook and it was okay but not great. The second time the changes I made were only to ingredients: used chicken stock instead of the water, no celery (preference), 2 cloves garlic minced and toward the end I added a couple tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken it a bit. I found it to be much more balanced and delicious this time following the directions of browning the meat (all turkey) and adding it with the beans and corn about an hour before serving it. Very filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Love it with potatoes instead of sweet potatoes and I also used soy meat instead of real!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
We really loved this recipe. This can be changed easily to a vegetarian dish by omitting the meat and adding an extra can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent!!!!! The best chili I have ever made or ate!! Used all turkey and only 1 of the cans of tomatos had chili seasonings so overall it was tasty w/o being too spicy for the kids. They are normally picky but ate this. I served green Tabasco on the side for the adults who needed more of a kick. Very Yummy! Just be sure to start it well ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I LOVE this chili. I think it is the most delicious chili I have ever had. I love the cinnamon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was really different... and delicious! Changed it slightly due to ingredients on hand. Deleted all meat. Used home canned tomatoes instead of stewed, 1 can Rotel, and hot Mexican chili spice instead of regular chili powder. Added kidney beans. Have already passed along the recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This recipe was yummy. I didn't have time to get it all together in the morning because I was late for work, so I had to make it in a much shorter time frame than allotted in the recipe. I browned my meat (I used 1.3 lbs lean ground beef) with 1/2 of a yellow onion that was diced. I also put my sweet potatoes in the microwave for about 8 minutes and then diced them before throwing everything together in the slow cooker. I cooked it on high for about 2.5 to 3 hours. It probably wold have been even better if I had been able to follow the recipe exactly, but it was still very good and quite easy. I would definitely recommend it. the bf isn't a fan of cumin and thought the taste might have been a little strong, but he still liked it. I didn't mind it. We both though it seemed like it might be missing a little something (hence the 4 stars), but again, it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States