Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was excellent! I only had one can of stewed tomatoes so I used it plus one large can of tomato sauce, I left out the cinnamon but followed everyother ingredient. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Delicious! I couldn't find stewed tomatoes with chili seasonings, so I just used regular. It was fine. Didn't have any corn so I left that out and I really don't think it needs it. This was the perfect combo of spices and we enjoyed it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I love thie recipe but I have made four minor changes: (1) I reduced the cumin to half just because I am not a fan of cumin. (2) I used all beef and no turkey. (3) I put the diced sweet potatoes in the microwave for a few minutes to soften them up before going into the crock pot. (4) I put ALL the ingredients in at once in the crock pot and cooked on low for 8 hours (turned out just great!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Such a great comfort food. I was concerned about how much cinnamon it called for, espcially as it had such a strong odor when it was cooking, but in the end it wasn't overwhelming and turned out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is my family's favorite chili and I've made quite a few 5 star chilis from AllRecipes. I did not change a thing other 1) zapping my cut up sweet potatoes in the microwave for 60 seconds before throwing them in the crock pot and 2) adjusting my cooking time since crock pots are different and mine runs HOT. I cooked on high for just 4 hours and during the last hour, added my browned meat. Even better on day 2! Delicious, interesting, pretty. Also, because of the low bean content (ahem) this is not really a gas-inducing chili which is a thumbs up for us ;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I really enjoyed this soup. I love sweet potatoes, so it was really nice to have it in this soup. There's not a lot of heat, so I might add a chipotle pepper next time. But the flavor is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Used all ground beef and omitted cayenne for the kids. Served with chopped avocado, green onions, and sour cream. The entire family ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I've made this recipe a couple times so far and have really liked it. I made it last night for an annual chili cook-off at work and it did really well. Obviously, when you're talking about sweet potatoes, it's hit and miss; some people really like them, others can't stand them. I love them and this recipe doesn't disappoint! I did modify a step, however: Instead of putting the raw potatoes straight into the crock, I pop them into a large sauce pan with a little olive oil, cinnamon and brown sugar to taste along with the sweet onions, caramelizing both and more importantly, partially cooking the potatoes which cuts the crock cook time in half. I also doubled the potatoes and excluded the beef and turkey, making it a vegetarian dish. All-in-all, an excellent recipe. This is one I'll be using for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT Small

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We LOVE this recipie! We added 1 zucchini and some spinach that we had in the fridge. Otherwise prepared just as written. Absolutely wonderful! Might try adding a can of kidney beans next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I read a review where someone put everything in at the same time and just let it cook and it was okay but not great. The second time the changes I made were only to ingredients: used chicken stock instead of the water, no celery (preference), 2 cloves garlic minced and toward the end I added a couple tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken it a bit. I found it to be much more balanced and delicious this time following the directions of browning the meat (all turkey) and adding it with the beans and corn about an hour before serving it. Very filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States