Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was great! I got a late start do I only cooked on high for two hours then added the meats, corn, and beans and cooked an additional 2 hours. I accidentally put in a whole teaspoon of cinnamon but it was still great. I also used a whole pound of organic, grass fed beef and 1/2 lb turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrine York

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made as written..excellent and very different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Soooo goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by femm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made this for dinner today. Only saw the recipe at 4PM which was too late for the crockpot, so I browned the meat first then added it to the other ingredients in a stock pot, brought up to a boil then simmered for 45 min. The potatoes were very tender. The whole meal was delicious. I'm not a fan of sweet potatoes outside of a pie, but this was a great use of my extra potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is a wonderful, easy recipe -- made no changes and it came out great, though the sweet potatoes can get a little mushy (fine by me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was a great recipe! I added in black eyed peas for additional bulk and less on the turkey/beef. I just added everything in and set on low for 8 hours - came out perfect. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
LOVE it! Easy to put together. Spicy and sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Tcherneshoff Deuel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I love sweet potatoes and chilli but had never had a sweet potato chilli before. It was very good. Need a soup for a luncheon Sunday at church and I am planning on making more of this chilli. Try it... it is VERY good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
UPDATE: I won 3rd place in a friends and family chili cook off with this one! Thank you to salt&light for posting this fabulous recipe. I have made it an unofficial rule (very strong advice, lol) that this be eaten with fat free Greek yogurt mixed in! It gives it a hearty creaminess that is guilt-free! Yum!!! This chili is so friggin' awesome! It's mostly like a "normal" chili, but the sweet potatoes and touch of cinnamon give it a little nudge into something magically perfect for Autumn. I didn't bother with stewed, chili-seasoned tomatoes, I just used regular old canned diced tomatoes and increased the seasonings (except cinnamon) a little. No problem. Used chicken broth instead of water. Also only cooked on high 3 hours before adding the meat. First time I made it, I used all beef. I have my second batch cooking now, using 3/4 turkey, 1/4 beef (what I have on-hand) and I quadrupled the recipe using 2 crock pots, because I am entering this recipe in a chili cook-off my friend is hosting on Sunday. I will come back with an update soon! I served this with fat free Greek yogurt (sour cream is a thing of the past- I can use ALL the Greek yogurt I want, with NO guilt! It tastes the same, try it!!) chopped scallions, oyster crackers, and shredded cheddar cheese. My husband and I thought we'd died and gone to heaven. We looked forward to eating the leftovers every day, 2 meals a day, for 3 days. I can't say enough good things about this. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
that was really good. we feel it was missing something, some kind of spice/seasoning, couldn't put our fingers on it, but it was still good. even my 11 year old who turned his nose up at it at first said i should enter it into a chili contest....guess he liked it after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States