Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was a win for my family. I will definitely be making this again. The only thing I did differently was throw the whole can of corn in instead of just the cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made this a few weeks ago for dinner with friends, we were meant to have 6 for dinner, and since a few are big eaters I more than doubled the recipe. I also changed the recipe a bit for no other reason than a whim. Instead of the ground turkey & beef I used 2 lbs of sweet Italian sausage, removed from casings. I sauteed a lg, diced onion along with 4 cloves of garlic & a few stalks of celery. I used chicken broth, cinnamon, nutmeg, cumin, a bit of Cayenne pepper & brown sugar to taste. I used 6 lg sweet potatoes - some cubed & some diced - & a lg bag of frozen corn. I put it all in the slow cooker together & let it cook on low for about 8 hrs. One reason I made so much was because I planned to put some in the freezer, give some to my parents & some to my brother. Ha! That didn't happen! I thought our guests were going to lick the slow cooker clean! It was that good! You can be sure I will be making this again. I also plan to make this recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Perhaps it's because we have my standard chili recipe that's delicious, but my husband and I were quite disappointed in this sweet potato chili. I used ground beef rather than adding turkey, but the recipe was too sweet and bland for us. I sampled it when I got home and added a can of Ranch Beans with jalapenos to try to add flavors. It still didn't work for us, and we did not save the leftovers for another day...unheard of around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Used a can of what I thought were mild tomatoes and chiles, but was a little too spicey for us. A dollop of sour cream on top quiets the heat nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was amazing! People who claimed they didn't like sweet potatoes loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Absolutely Loved this!! So flavorful ! Only changes I made were adding a bit more water and cooking first set of ingredients on low since I work a full day...was delicious and well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I added a yellow and orange pepper chopped and I used chicken broth (14.5 oz can) instead of water. When I added the black beans I put a can of refried beans in too. Absolutely delicious. I love sweet potatoes, but like some of the other reviewers, I was apprehensive about how they would go with chili. This is the only way I will make chili from now on. My husband doesn't even like sweet potatoes but he liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Wonderfully awesome! I will make this over and over again ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by keri
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
A friend had mentioned putting sweet potatoes in her chili, so when I saw this I had to try it! On issue is I don't have a slow cooker, but I cooked this in a pot on the stove and it turned out great! I didn't have diced tomatoes with seasoning so I just added extra of the required spices with the exception on cinnamon. I also omitted the tomato sauce and added 1.5c vegetable broth to keep it from getting too thick. I only used ground turkey instead of beef. Definitely a recipe to pass along to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
So glad I found this recipe!! We loved it! I left out the celery only because we were out. Topped ours with cheese and sour cream. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States