Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Very good, added 1 1/2 of chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made with 1 lb ground beef and cooked on the stove top by browning the beef with the sweet potatos, onion, celery and one clove of crushed garlic, drained the grease, added the spices and let them heat up, then added turkey stock in place of water along with the tomatos and beans. Added the corn after it had simmered for about an hour, then simmered for another hour, taking the lid off for the last 30 mins. EXCELLENT chili and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was so different and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and it didn't really need any changes. I usually top my chili with sour cream and cheese, but this one tasted weird with the sour cream, so I just top it with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was awesome. Substituted veggie "ground beef" as I am a vegetarian and still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Chavez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! Cinnamon in chili, never would have thought!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Modifications: I didn't have enough chili powder (only had 1/3 Tblspoon), so added some pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg and ground chipotle powder in addition to the spices specified. Also lessened the cumin but increased the garlic powder and onion powder. I also didn't have corn, so added a pink lady Apple instead (cubed). Also browned the meat with salt, pepper, pumpkin pie spice (just a dash), and onion powder plus garlic powder. I cooked everything in high for 5 hours, adding only about 1/5 cup water instead of 1/2 cup. Served with cornbread and homemade maple butter - it was fabulous. Friends and family all raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was a win for my family. I will definitely be making this again. The only thing I did differently was throw the whole can of corn in instead of just the cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made this a few weeks ago for dinner with friends, we were meant to have 6 for dinner, and since a few are big eaters I more than doubled the recipe. I also changed the recipe a bit for no other reason than a whim. Instead of the ground turkey & beef I used 2 lbs of sweet Italian sausage, removed from casings. I sauteed a lg, diced onion along with 4 cloves of garlic & a few stalks of celery. I used chicken broth, cinnamon, nutmeg, cumin, a bit of Cayenne pepper & brown sugar to taste. I used 6 lg sweet potatoes - some cubed & some diced - & a lg bag of frozen corn. I put it all in the slow cooker together & let it cook on low for about 8 hrs. One reason I made so much was because I planned to put some in the freezer, give some to my parents & some to my brother. Ha! That didn't happen! I thought our guests were going to lick the slow cooker clean! It was that good! You can be sure I will be making this again. I also plan to make this recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Perhaps it's because we have my standard chili recipe that's delicious, but my husband and I were quite disappointed in this sweet potato chili. I used ground beef rather than adding turkey, but the recipe was too sweet and bland for us. I sampled it when I got home and added a can of Ranch Beans with jalapenos to try to add flavors. It still didn't work for us, and we did not save the leftovers for another day...unheard of around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States