Sweet Potato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This cheesecake was AWESOME! My boyfriend is in love with the sweet potatoe cheesecake we get here at Glady's Knight Chicken & Waffles Restaurant. He asked me to try and duplicate it, well this one came out better, sorry Glady's! I did add a few ingredients to enhance the flavors. 1/2 c chopped pecans and 1/2 tea cinnamon to crust. I also added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tea cinnamon, 1/4 tea nutmeg, 1/4 tea ginger and 2 tea vanilla to filling. I used 2 cups of mashed sweet potatoes (definately bake the potatoes adds flavor). Don't over beat the filling and put a shallow pan of water on the rack below the cake for a flawless cheesecake w/o cracks every time. Baked 1hr 10 mins in 9" pan, removed from oven immediately when center was almost set. This cake is super rich and delicious, absolutely worth the effort. If you love cheesecake and sweet potatoe pie, you'll love this cake. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutie Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
With a few modifications, this was an excellent cheesecake! I added some flavor(nutmeg, cinnamon, and allspice) to the sweet potato puree, as if I were making a sweet potato pie. I also cooked this in a waterbath, which added to the silky texture. And finally, I added a bit of cinnamon to the topping, which was the perfect touch! Great recipe for those who love sweet potato pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I thought this recipe was great. I just made a few modifications. I treated the sweet potato puree like the filling for a pie. I added cinnamon, a squeeze of lemon, a drop of vanilla extract, and a tablespoon or two of butter (sinful I know). I made if for Thanksgiving (with the topping) and Christmas (without the topping) and the family loved them both. I think this will be a new holiday favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONALYSEE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was a great starter recipe. I did add some cinnamon, nutmeg, and a pinch of allspice to the puree. I also omitted the pecans from the topping. The recipe did not call for a waterbath but I used one anyway. Before I added the eggs, I tasted the mix and decided I needed a bit more sweet potato because the flavor was a bit weak. I ended up putting about a third of a cup more potato puree. This for Christmas dessert and it was a huge hit. My first ever cheesecake was a definite success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I made this chessecake because my husband saw it on the travel channel @ Glady Knight resturant. I'm glad I made it. It's very GOOOOOOD. I made a few changes just like the other reviewers. I added vanilla extract, nutmeg & cinnamon to the puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This is the ultimate cheesecake. I love cheesecake, sweet potato pie and pecan pie so this is heaven to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Tried this because it sounded interesting. Loved the flavor and made it as directed with the exception of adding cinnamon and nutmeg. Really, really good! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2000
I made this cake about a year ago and I got great reviews for it!!! People just didn't belive that it was my FIRST attempt at making cheesecakes!!! Go ahead, try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent cheesecake! For the crust, I used a combination of graham crackers and vanilla wafers and did not add any additional sugar. Instead, I added a little cinnamon. I used a full cup of sugar in the batter and, like many other members, I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger. I've never made sweet potato anything without these seasonings. To me, it would have been bland without them. I was afraid the pecan topping was going to make the cheesecake too sweet but it was perfect. This recipe goes into my permenant files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I made this for thanksgiving and it was a big hit. I added butter, cinnamon, and nutmeg to the sweet potato puree, which seemed to work out well. I also only used 1/2 cup of pecans in the topping (that's all I had), but it still tasted great. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States